Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580 - Thunderbolt 3

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,071
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! If I want to try a different system definition. Can I just switch only it or do I need to regenerate all SMBIOS info including serial, etc.?

I always use Clover Configurator when changing system definitions. It will generate all the other corresponding info.

I have never reused the same Serial for different system definitions.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
179
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Thanks @pastrychef for the quick answer.
I understand that the conclusions I reached in the various attempts to make Sidecar work in beta versions were correct: at the moment we are forced to make a choice as to which functionality we prefer.
It seems to me that switching to Catalina renouncing Sidecar and even 32bit software is a bit masochistic, and I would say that we can conclude that T2 gave its first check to the Hackintosh, limiting their complete functionality. We hope it is not the prelude to a checkmate. But I have hopes that soon we will be able to find some solution, because perhaps the problem has not come out for a precise will on the part of Apple (which certainly is not to think about the configurations of the Hackintosh), but simply for a set of coincidences.
We'll see...

An in-depth question: in addition to the 1.1 have you also experienced some other configuration that works with the DRM?
I have read (but not tried) that there is a patch for SMBIOS that do not provide the iGPU to make Sidecar work, making 1+1 the solution (at least for some time) could be around the corner...
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,071
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks @pastrychef for the quick answer.
I understand that the conclusions I reached in the various attempts to make Sidecar work in beta versions were correct: at the moment we are forced to make a choice as to which functionality we prefer.
It seems to me that switching to Catalina renouncing Sidecar and even 32bit software is a bit masochistic, and I would say that we can conclude that T2 gave its first check to the Hackintosh, limiting their complete functionality. We hope it is not the prelude to a checkmate. But I have hopes that soon we will be able to find some solution, because perhaps the problem has not come out for a precise will on the part of Apple (which certainly is not to think about the configurations of the Hackintosh), but simply for a set of coincidences.
We'll see...

An in-depth question: in addition to the 1.1 have you also experienced some other configuration that works with the DRM?
I have read (but not tried) that there is a patch for SMBIOS that do not provide the iGPU to make Sidecar work, making 1+1 the solution (at least for some time) could be around the corner...

I have not seen a solution that would give users both...

I don't have a Sidecar compatible iPad, but, if I did, I would probably choose iMac19,x. I don't consume much DRM content on my computer. I usually use my Apple TV for that.

In the past (High Sierra?), I was able to get DRM working using iMac18,x system definition and Shikigva boot flags, but that broke a long time ago and I never got it working again.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,698
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Simon70, @pastrychef, et al,

I have used the Duet application for my Macs and iPad. Check it out. BTW, Duet has been around for several years and works on macOS 10.9 and later.

 
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
179
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
@pastrychef , in fact I also chose 19.1 for Catalina which seems to be very stable and functional for this configuration. Until now, apart from this limit, I have not encountered any difficulty and we are just at the beginning.


@Stork you are right! By dint of thinking about the news I have forgotten what has already been available for some time. There are also alternatives.
For sure, for those companies, Apple will have been an incentive to develop new competitive features and to look more closely at realities with operating systems other than MacOS, certain that the thump must have been heavy ...

Waiting for any developments and news, I greet you and thank you again.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,698
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Simon70 & @pastrychef,

I point out Duet as an alternative to Sidecar for those who want a SysDef that can use DRM for videos and for those who have older iPads. Check it out. (I'm surprised the Duet developers haven't sued Apple, yet.)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,071
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Sep 14, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus Hero X Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@pastrychef so i've been pretty happy with my build for half a year now since you helped me fix my USB config and a weird quicklook problem i had, thx again for that :)

But I've recently bought a Samsung 4k TV and i cannot boot with the TV attached over HDMI to the Asus RX580 Dual. So i started diggin into it and couldn't really find a fix for it but i think sth is up with my config. It's not a drama to not be able to use the TV on the Mac since i only bought it for gaming on Windows, but it's a pain to have to physically disconnect the cable so i can boot into the hacky. I think the problem might be linked to the fact that the Asus rx580 Dual has 2 HDMI ports whereas most 580s have 3 DP ports and only one HDMI port, so i couldn't find anything specific to my particular model to fix it.

Also I downloaded your latest EFI folder from a couple of pages back and compared it to mine and found a number of differences. I'm not sure why the config.plist is so different since i rebuilt it with your help parly. Could you have a quick look to see if anything strikes you as odd. Although my build is modeled on yours and storks i am still on 10.14.4 with iMac 18,3 SMBIOS and an i7-8700k.

My graphics card shows up as Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] in the system info, probably to do with the config.plist. In activity monitor it shows as a 580 but in System info and everywhere else as Ellesmere.

I have a lot of definitions for the PCI which i don't know where i got them from, like these. Not sure if they actually do anything or are just descriptive.

Code:
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Host bridge</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>8th Gen Core Processor Host Bridge/DRAM Registers</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>PCI bridge</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor PCIe Controller (x16)</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@1,0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>VGA compatible controller</string>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-2</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590]</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x1)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@1,0,1</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590]</string>
            </dict>

again not sure what the Xeon is doing in there or where i got it from. I have a vague memory of having used Hackintool for at some point and think it might be from that.

Also noticed that in your EFI>CLOVER folder you only got a 'drivers' folder, i got a drivers64 and a drivers 64uefi folders.

My kexts are all in Other and not in /Library/Extensions.

My sleep still doesn't work (Displays turn off but system doesn't sleep), not aproblem but i tried everything i could find to get it to work so i gave up on it.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    24.5 MB · Views: 21
  • ss 2019-11-14 at 11.33.44.png
    ss 2019-11-14 at 11.33.44.png
    50.1 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,071
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef so i've been pretty happy with my build for half a year now since you helped me fix my USB config and a weird quicklook problem i had, thx again for that :)

But I've recently bought a Samsung 4k TV and i cannot boot with the TV attached over HDMI to the Asus RX580 Dual. So i started diggin into it and couldn't really find a fix for it but i think sth is up with my config. It's not a drama to not be able to use the TV on the Mac since i only bought it for gaming on Windows, but it's a pain to have to physically disconnect the cable so i can boot into the hacky. I think the problem might be linked to the fact that the Asus rx580 Dual has 2 HDMI ports whereas most 580s have 3 DP ports and only one HDMI port, so i couldn't find anything specific to my particular model to fix it.

Also I downloaded your latest EFI folder from a couple of pages back and compared it to mine and found a number of differences. I'm not sure why the config.plist is so different since i rebuilt it with your help parly. Could you have a quick look to see if anything strikes you as odd. Although my build is modeled on yours and storks i am still on 10.14.4 with iMac 18,3 SMBIOS and an i7-8700k.

My graphics card shows up as Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] in the system info, probably to do with the config.plist. In activity monitor it shows as a 580 but in System info and everywhere else as Ellesmere.

I have a lot of definitions for the PCI which i don't know where i got them from, like these. Not sure if they actually do anything or are just descriptive.

Code:
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Host bridge</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>8th Gen Core Processor Host Bridge/DRAM Registers</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>PCI bridge</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor PCIe Controller (x16)</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@1,0,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>VGA compatible controller</string>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-2</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590]</string>
            </dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x1)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@1,0,1</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>Audio device</string>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590]</string>
            </dict>

again not sure what the Xeon is doing in there or where i got it from. I have a vague memory of having used Hackintool for at some point and think it might be from that.

Also noticed that in your EFI>CLOVER folder you only got a 'drivers' folder, i got a drivers64 and a drivers 64uefi folders.

My kexts are all in Other and not in /Library/Extensions.

My sleep still doesn't work (Displays turn off but system doesn't sleep), not aproblem but i tried everything i could find to get it to work so i gave up on it.

The section of config.plist you posted is from config.plist > Devices > Properties. The part where you see "Ellesmere" is what causes your GPU to shows up in System Information as such. It is purely cosmetic and you can change that text to anything you like.

I did notice that in the same config.plist > Devices > Properties section that your IGPU is using an ig-platform-id that I've never seen.
Screen Shot 2019-11-14 at 6.26.51 AM.png
This part is NOT cosmetic and will affect how macOS behaves. I suggest you clear out the entire Properties section and re-do it using Hackintool. I have posted instructions on how to do it here.

As for your HDMI to TV problem... For me, personally, HDMI has always been very finicky in macOS. High quality HDMI cables are a must. Using adaptors to connect 4K HDMI monitors/TV through DisplayPort hasn't helped.
That being said, here are some things to try:
  • Try booting from both HDMI ports.
  • After you get in to macOS when connected to your TV, go to System Preferences > Displays and try lowering the resolution (1080p has helped me boot consistently on one of my builds) and/or refresh rate. To see all available options, hold the Option key and click on the "Scaled" button. Reboot and see if it helps.
Screen Shot 2019-11-14 at 6.43.42 AM.png
If none of that helps, you may need to patch the framebuffer... Directions can be found here.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus Hero X Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
2x RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Ha! @pastrychef, you make my day once again! Sleep is working now. :headbang: I found this little tidbit in your post about setting up the PCI device properties:

***Note 3: On my system, having the "LPC/eSPI Controller" listed prevented sleep. So, I just deleted it and everything is back to normal.
That did the trick. It takes about half a minute to go into sleep, but it does sleep and wakes without problems now.

When redoing the hackintool device export, I got again the mysterious ig-platform-id, so I deleted it.

All seems fine now. I also updated Clover and macOS to 10.14.6 without problems.

I'll try to get to the bottom of the HDMI 4K thing. I thought I read that patching framebuffers is only needed when you want to use the onboard graphics. From what I read so far it confirms what you said that 4K monitors/TVs are a bit fickled on the hackintosh. I guess I have some more reading up to do now, and let you know if I get it sorted. :)


aaand ... i switched the HDMI port and now i can start with the TV attached which works fine in 4k as well.

good day today :p
 
Last edited:
Top