Contribute
Register

Some questions about setting up Win7 64 Bit and Mac OS on a new computer, using the dual boot thingy

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hey guys, im brand new to installing multiple OS. Ive got some questions you may have an answer to.

First of all, ive just ordered a new computer wich will arrive on friday. On this computer I want to install OS X Mountain Lion and Windows 7 64Bit.
Some people told me Mac OS is not valid to some hardware. It would be great if some of you tell me if my hardware is valid to Mac OS:

• 1000GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 ST1000DM003 64MB 3.5" (8.9cm) SATA 6Gb/s
  • 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP Black DDR3-1600 DIMM CL9 Dual Kit
  • 120GB Samsung 840 Evo Series 2.5" (6.4cm) SATA 6Gb/s MLC Toggle (MZ-7TE120BW)
  • Intel Core i5 4670K 4x 3.40GHz So.1150 BOX
  • 2048MB Inno3D GeForce GTX 770 HerculeZ X3 Ultra Aktiv PCIe 3.0 x16 (Retail)
  • Asus Z87-A (C2) Intel Z87 So.1150 Dual Channel DDR3 ATX Retail

My next question is about a video tutorial I saw on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RDBD7i3bG9M

In this video there is a talk of a 8GB flash drive wish will install Mac OS on the PC. Does the stick has to have any special
features? Like only being USB 2.0 or USB 3.0? Because if not I would just buy the 16 GB ADATA Superior Series S102 Pro USB 3.0 stick for it.

My next question is about the partitions. Where would you place Win7 and Mac OS? Both on the SSD? Or something like Win on SSD and Mac OS on the HDD? If its like the last option will I be able to have access to the HDD with Mac OS on it?

Hey guys, im brand new to installing multiple OS. Ive got some questions you may have an answer to.

First of all, ive just ordered a new computer wich will arrive on friday. On this computer I want to install OS X Mountain Lion and Windows 7 64Bit.