[Solved] Thunderbolt Firmware Update 1.2

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by imrazor, Sep 1, 2016.

  1. imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX 3800 1GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 1, 2016 at 9:14 PM #1
    imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX 3800 1GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I recently updated my desktop to Clover/ElCap. Install media was 10.11.3, but upgrade to 10.11.6 went smoothly. However, this Thunderbolt update keeps trying to install over and over again, and failing repeatedly (no error message, just keeps repeating.) My motherboard does not have Thunderbolt, but Clover decided to set my machine ID as iMac13,2 which I presume *does* have Thunderbolt. Is there anyway to permanently clear it out of my pending updates in the App Store? I'd rather not change my SMBIOS if I don't have to, as everything is working pretty nicely.

    EDIT: Never mind, I figured it out. Apparently if you right click on the update in the App Store, then click on Hide Update, you'll never be bothered about it again. Sorry to waste anyone's time...
     
    iReagan07 likes this.
  2. supergen

    supergen

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77
    CPU:
    i7 2700K
    Graphics:
    (x2) HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jan 23, 2017 at 11:49 PM #2
    supergen

    supergen

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77
    CPU:
    i7 2700K
    Graphics:
    (x2) HD 6870
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hi Imrazor

    I have the same issue, but can't find how to hide this useless update, since right click doesn't work in my case...

    Edited: Googleing I found the (stupid) solution: right click on a white space next to the entry. I tried to make right click on the button (which IMHO is more natural...). :D
     
  3. imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX 3800 1GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 24, 2017 at 7:05 PM #3
    imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX 3800 1GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    @supergen Glad you got it fixed. Just out of curiosity, is your Hackintosh also recognized as an iMac 13,2?
     
  4. krolla

    krolla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    z87x-oc
    CPU:
    Core i7
    Graphics:
    GTX 760 x2
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 25, 2017 at 8:39 PM #4
    krolla

    krolla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Mobo:
    z87x-oc
    CPU:
    Core i7
    Graphics:
    GTX 760 x2
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    OMG thank you!!!! I have tried to install this update ( i dont need since i dont have thunderbolt) at least 20 times!!!

    And fyi my system definition is imac 13,3
     
  5. technosinner

    technosinner

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3.5 GHz i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 3, 2017 at 4:56 PM #5
    technosinner

    technosinner

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3.5 GHz i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Actually I've been having this issue for ever, and even if I click Hide Update, it just bloody stays there. Do I need to do something else?
     
  6. Gutz_Otoole

    Gutz_Otoole

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Mobo:
    GA-B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel i7-3770
    Graphics:
    EVGA GT 740, 2GB GDDR3
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 9, 2017 at 3:42 PM #6
    Gutz_Otoole

    Gutz_Otoole

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Mobo:
    GA-B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    Intel i7-3770
    Graphics:
    EVGA GT 740, 2GB GDDR3
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    In Terminal: softwareupdate --ignore ThunderboltFirmwareUpdate1.2

    No need for sudo.
     
    j57 and astromooses like this.
  7. maltux1963

    maltux1963

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    HP 6300 SFF
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Geforce GTX 1050
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 21, 2017 at 7:34 PM #7
    maltux1963

    maltux1963

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    HP 6300 SFF
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Geforce GTX 1050
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    wow - thanks Gutz!
     
  8. scrump

    scrump

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 3.9Ghz
    Graphics:
    Palit Super Jetstream GTX980 TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 13, 2017 at 9:52 AM #8
    scrump

    scrump

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 3.9Ghz
    Graphics:
    Palit Super Jetstream GTX980 TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hahahaha Thank you for your quick and easy solution.

    this update notification was driving me nuts. I right clicked several times on the button and somewhere else but never ever so close the text / description. Oh boy. Thanks
     
  9. j57

    j57

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i5 4690
    Graphics:
    gtx760 gigabyte 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac
    Nov 27, 2017 at 1:42 PM #9
    j57

    j57

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i5 4690
    Graphics:
    gtx760 gigabyte 2Gb
    Mac:
    iMac
    Thanks mate!
     

Share This Page