[solved] OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

Discussion in 'Mavericks Laptop Support' started by BusterCZE, Jun 5, 2015.

  1. BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 5, 2015 at 1:44 PM #1
    BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hi all,
    I am trying to install OS X Mavericks in my laptop. But i still keep getting error "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer". Can somebody help me with this ?
    My laptop:
    I have 2 disks. One 1TB disk is used for data and now i want to install there OS X. And second 60GB SSD where is installed Windows 10.Screen from disk manager:

    Výst?ižek.PNG
    CPU: i5 3210M
    GPU: Nvidia GT640M/HD4000
    RAM: 8GB
    Chipset: HM77
    Acer Aspire V3 771G
     
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 5, 2015 at 2:37 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    The OS X installer requires GPT partitioning.
     
  3. BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 5, 2015 at 3:00 PM #3
    BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    Both disks are GPT.
     
  4. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 5, 2015 at 3:12 PM #4
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    It doesn't appear to be the case (no EFI partition on the first one).
     
  5. BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 5, 2015 at 3:20 PM #5
    BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    Cause on the first one isnt any system for now. And it was added when system was already installed. Is that problem ?
    Here is both marked as GPT:
    Výst?ižek1.PNG
     
  6. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 5, 2015 at 3:21 PM #6
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    It should still have an EFI partition.
     
  7. BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 5, 2015 at 3:24 PM #7
    BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    So why is on that disk no EFI partition ? Can be EFI partition created somehow ?
     
  8. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 5, 2015 at 3:25 PM #8
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    Repartition with Disk Utility.
     
  9. BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 5, 2015 at 3:28 PM #9
    BusterCZE

    BusterCZE

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire E15 573G-38AB
    CPU:
    i3 4005U
    Graphics:
    940M, HD4400, 1920*1080
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    Oh, But this will destroy all data on that drive, wont it ?
     
  10. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 5, 2015 at 3:29 PM #10
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    185,335
    Motherboard:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    OS X Mavericks "This disk cannot be used to startup your computer"

    Of course. But you have a backup, no?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice