RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I am a noob but have earned a few strips installing OS X on a netbootbook (Samsung N130)
I have successfully managed that. It was relatively painless compared to the desktop I doing next.

I have two identical and relatively "old" Dell Inspiron 530 spec'ed as follows:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad 9300
CHIPSET: G33/G31/P35 with ICH9 (well that's what working Windows 7 tells me.)
GPU: ATI HD 3900
RAM: 4 GB running @ 800 MHz
SATA 0: 740 GB HDD
SATA 1: DVD-ROM

I am trying to install via Retail 10.6.0 DVD and does not even get to boot Mac OS but hanps with the grey screen with an Apple logo with a "No Entry" symbol.

I have tried booting with Nawcom BootCD (see here http://prasys.info/2010/10/nawcoms-bootcd-the-sucessor-to-empireefi/)
as follows:

1. Set BIOS HDD to RAID (as opposed to IDE. Dell does not not provide any other setting like ACHI).
2. Boot a CD using Nawcom BootCD and when it has finished, I pressed F5 and swapped it with Retail CD. and hit enter.
3. It start making noises, screen goes black. I move the mouse and it dsplays corrupted output on the screen that changes with the mouse movement. so I reboot and get to step 2 again and enter -x -v and then enter.
4. this time, there's lot of verbose output appears on the screen. there's some error re USB could not be enumerated and eventually gets stuck outputting "Still waiting for root"....

So gave that up and downloaded iBoot Supported boot CD and booted that.
This time, after I swap the iBoot CD with the Retail CD, I get the grey screen with an Apple logo and the spinning wheel.
Eventually the logo has "No Entry" symbol on it and the wheel continues to spin.

No joy :(

Next, I download and burned iBoot ATI CD and tred that.
Again, same result as iBoot Supported.