[SOLVED] Can I clear CMOS on a working Mavericks Hackintosh?

Discussion in 'General Help' started by adiaz, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. adiaz

    adiaz

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Motherboard:
    Jetway NAF93-Q77, OS 10.9.5, 3,1 AMI BIOS A05
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    HD4000 & Nvidia GTX 770
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 9, 2015 at 9:29 PM #1
    adiaz

    adiaz

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Motherboard:
    Jetway NAF93-Q77, OS 10.9.5, 3,1 AMI BIOS A05
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    HD4000 & Nvidia GTX 770
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello, I'm having some issues with my "Hack" and I'd like to try clearing the CMOS to see if that is part of the problem.

    Can I just clear the CMOS and re enter bios defaults without having to re-install Mavericks or go thru the Unibeast installation?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Thij

    Thij

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Motherboard:
    Asus P6T SE
    CPU:
    2.81 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 650 ti 1024 MB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 11, 2015 at 9:50 AM #2
    Thij

    Thij

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    278
    Motherboard:
    Asus P6T SE
    CPU:
    2.81 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 650 ti 1024 MB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Can I clear CMOS on a working Mavericks Hackintosh?

    Due to overheating problems (which was solved by applying new thermal paste) I wanted to temporarily undervolt my CPU. I set it at minimum and was curious what would happen. Well... Nothing. I couldn't even enter the BIOS. Just a black screen.

    I opened my case, removed the CMOS battery and put it back in after a minute or so. Starting my hack would give an error that the BIOS settings were reset. Configured it as I had before and my hack runs without any problems, just like it did.

    If you want to reset your CMOS make sure you exactly know what your BIOS settings are. May save you a lot of time afterwards. :D
     
  3. adiaz

    adiaz

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Motherboard:
    Jetway NAF93-Q77, OS 10.9.5, 3,1 AMI BIOS A05
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    HD4000 & Nvidia GTX 770
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 11, 2015 at 1:06 PM #3
    adiaz

    adiaz

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Motherboard:
    Jetway NAF93-Q77, OS 10.9.5, 3,1 AMI BIOS A05
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    HD4000 & Nvidia GTX 770
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Can I clear CMOS on a working Mavericks Hackintosh?

    Thanks Thij!

    That's what I did yesterday except looking back I'm sure if it cleared out the previously saved BIOS settings because when I started up, I didn't get any messages just the Bios window. I had to manually select to load advanced bios settings.

    In any case, it did resolve the issues I was having so mission accomplished!

    Thanks again!
     
  4. coreycole

    coreycole

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Motherboard:
    ASRock - Z370M-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    i7-8086K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Aug 13, 2018 at 7:42 AM #4
    coreycole

    coreycole

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Motherboard:
    ASRock - Z370M-ITX/ac
    CPU:
    i7-8086K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    beautiful! resetting the cmos worked for me too. I lost the cmos short cap, so I rolled the dice and shorted it with my screwdriver. do this at your own risk!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice