Contribute
Register

[Solved] Alienware Aurora R7: blackscreen at installer boot.

Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
384
Motherboard
Dell Alienware Aurora R7
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX Vega64
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I recently purchased an Alienware Aurora R7. I added my old 512GB SSD to install High Sierra.

I dig out my old 10.13.3 unibeast installer. set BIOS as best I could from limited options.

I boot USB to clover installer, then boot my stick. all seems fine and then screen just goes black about the time it should go to the macOS installer page.

I do have a Vega64 card, but I read it is already supported for High Sierra.

Not sure what else I can do?
 

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,639
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 970
Not sure what else I can do?
Boot your system in Verbose Mode and post a picture of your screen when it freezes/hangs.
At Clover Boot Screen press space bar and select Verbose (-v)
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
384
Motherboard
Dell Alienware Aurora R7
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX Vega64
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Boot your system in Verbose Mode and post a picture of your screen when it freezes/hangs.
At Clover Boot Screen press space bar and select Verbose (-v)

It freezes at a blank screen. It actually loses signal so it may not be loading the GPU.

Here's a video. It's hard to read, but it does better on this time.

Hopefully you can make some heads or tails on what is going on.

 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
384
Motherboard
Dell Alienware Aurora R7
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX Vega64
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I can't seem to get this to work. I tried adding the RadeonDeInit and the true/ lines to the graphics section of config.plist.

On retrying it on my system, I still get the black screen.

Here's another video if it helps any:

I've been reading the last couple of days on this and can't seem to find anything that works, or it's really involved and I don't understand what they want me to do.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
384
Motherboard
Dell Alienware Aurora R7
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX Vega64
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I remade my flash drive installer today using Unibeast 8.2 and 10.13.4 and on first boot I found it hung on xhci. I added the USB 3.0 patch to the plist and it booted right to the installer in 4k with no major issues!

I am extremely surprised this went so smooth considering it is a Dell and all of the proprietary stuff they have.

Anyway, it found my nvme toshiba 256GB SSD, so I cloned my win10 install to the HDD it came with and Installed 10.13.4 to the nvme without issue. It show my Vega 64 and monitor. Network is working. No audio as usual. I need to figue out which audio chip this thing has and use multibeast 10.2 and install it. My mouse is a bit laggy still, so I may need better USB drivers as well.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
ds3h
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
gtx670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I remade my flash drive installer today using Unibeast 8.2 and 10.13.4 and on first boot I found it hung on xhci. I added the USB 3.0 patch to the plist and it booted right to the installer in 4k with no major issues!

I am extremely surprised this went so smooth considering it is a Dell and all of the proprietary stuff they have.

Anyway, it found my nvme toshiba 256GB SSD, so I cloned my win10 install to the HDD it came with and Installed 10.13.4 to the nvme without issue. It show my Vega 64 and monitor. Network is working. No audio as usual. I need to figue out which audio chip this thing has and use multibeast 10.2 and install it. My mouse is a bit laggy still, so I may need better USB drivers as well.
Hi, my r7 is also working, but having problems with network, which kexts have you installed? You fixed the audio problem?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
384
Motherboard
Dell Alienware Aurora R7
CPU
i7-8700k
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX Vega64
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
iirc, the USB installer put network driver in by default. no issues.

In multibeast I chose AtherosE2200Ethernet v2.2.2

also, I have a USB Audio device. Sabrent AU-MMSA that just works OOBE. I didn't even try the integrated Audio.

I zipped up my clover folder from my USB installer.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
Aurora R7
CPU
8700K
Graphics
1080 GTX
Hi Mark, thanks for the Clover file.

I wanted to ask you how stable the system has been for you in these months... I have an Aurora R7 and thinking of going through the Hackintosh route, but it is my only machine in addition to an old macbook pro, so I just wanted to know how things went so far. Thanks.
 
Top