Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
My current Hackintosh (a readymade) is dying under my feet after 5 mostly stable years (S***T!) so here I am - out of my depth!

I need a build to run Mavericks and Adobe CS6 (mainly Photoshop but also Indesign and Illustrator). I generate big files (>1gb) in my work as an illustrator, I zoom and pan a lot and have got used to a really reliable budget set up.

I don't want to ditch CS6 and I'm told Mavericks is the latest OSX that will work best with it but obviously the hardware has moved on. I'd really appreciate any thoughts on my list so far.

Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270M-D3H M-ATX 1151 7th Gen DDR4 M.2

CPU
Core i7-7700K, Speed: 4.2 GHz, QuadCore, 8 Mb Cache

RAM
Ballistix Sport LT 32GB Kit (16GBx2) DDR4 2400 MT/s (PC4-19200) DR x8 DIMM 288-Pin - BLS2C16G4D240FSC (White)

COOLER
Corsair hydro series H55

GPU

Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1050 GDDR5 2GB PCI-E

PSU
Corsair SF450 SFF450watt

DRIVES

LG Electronics Super Multi DVD Writer GH24NSD1 with M-DISC

Do you think it will work? It's a budget stretch so I sure as heck hope so.

My current Hackintosh (a readymade) is dying under my feet after 5 mostly stable years (S***T!) so here I am - out of my depth!

I need a build to run Mavericks and Adobe CS6 (mainly Photoshop but also Indesign and Illustrator). I generate big files (>1gb) in my work as an illustrator, I zoom and pan a lot and have got used to a really reliable budget set up.

I don't want to ditch CS6 and I'm told Mavericks is the latest OSX that will work best with it but obviously the hardware has moved on. I'd really appreciate any thoughts on my list so far.

Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270M-D3H M-ATX 1151 7th Gen DDR4 M.2

CPU
Core i7-7700K, Speed: 4.2 GHz, QuadCore, 8 Mb Cache

RAM
Ballistix Sport LT 32GB Kit (16GBx2) DDR4 2400 MT/s (PC4-19200) DR x8 DIMM 288-Pin - BLS2C16G4D240FSC (White)

COOLER
Corsair hydro series H55

GPU
Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1050 GDDR5 2GB PCI-E