Snow Leopard on a Macbook Pro 2012 MD101 core i5 Ivy Bridge (almost perfect)

Discussion in 'Snow Leopard Laptop Support' started by max_subrose, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. max_subrose

    max_subrose

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Snow Leopard
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 950
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 775
    Feb 21, 2013 at 6:29 PM #1
    max_subrose

    max_subrose

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Snow Leopard
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 950
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 775
    Hi

    First of all I must say that English it's not my main language, so forgive me for any mistakes in my writing [​IMG=full]

    Well I need help, I've managed to install Snow Leopard on my macbook pro 2012 MD101 ivy bridge core i5, Why Snow Leopard? because I need that OS to run Protools HD9 and because for me it's way better than Lion and ML (but that's a personal opinion so I don't mean to argue about that)

    The thing is that I've found a way to install SL on this mac, Even so that many people told me it's not possible because the snow leopard kernel and all...

    Well I'll explain how I did it:
    1) I connect the macbook pro to my hackintosh in target mode (pressing "T" on boot)
    2) I restore the OSX drive of my hackinghtosh ( core i7 950 / Gigabyte x58a-ud5/ 6 Gb OZC ram / Nvidia GTX 275) to the harddrive of the macbook pro
    3) After restoration ends, I explore the macbook pro restored osx partition and delete the "mach_kernel" file and replace it with this one http://www.osx86.net...d_10.6._...html
    4) I delete the "extra" folder in the restored osx partition of the macbook
    5) disconnect the macbook of the hackinghtosh, reboot and booted to snow leopard with no problems or KP
    6) Using the "Kext Helper" app I install AppleHDA, IOAudio2Family and IOAudioFamily kexts that I extracted using pacifist from this update
    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1542 to enable audio

    and well almost everything's perfect, SL understand the cpu model, cores, frequency, ram, etc.

    THE ONLY PROBLEM... it's the intel HD4000 video... it's not recognized I mean I have image and all, but no Acceleration and the most important thing for me... I can't use the mini display port for connecting an external monitor to the macbook

    That's why I post here, to ask if anyone can help me in this, I searched everywhere but I could not find guides or any post of someone doing the same thing [​IMG=full]
     
  2. RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,109
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 21, 2013 at 7:31 PM #2
    RehabMan

    RehabMan Moderator

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    123,109
    Mobo:
    Intel DH67BL
    CPU:
    Core i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 3000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm guessing that HD4K on SL is a no-go. No drivers to support it. Even on a hack...
     
  3. max_subrose

    max_subrose

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Snow Leopard
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 950
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 775
    Feb 23, 2013 at 3:35 PM #3
    max_subrose

    max_subrose

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Snow Leopard
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 950
    Graphics:
    Nvidia gtx 775
    I though so :( but is there a way to just using an external monitor through the mini display port? I wish I could wake up the port only :D
    I dont really need acceleration :(
     
  4. Don_Grappler

    Don_Grappler

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    264
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4740s
    CPU:
    i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz (Ivy Bridge-MB PGA SV)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Ivy Bridge GT2), Radeon (not disabled)
    Feb 23, 2013 at 4:19 PM #4
    Don_Grappler

    Don_Grappler

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    264
    Mobo:
    HP Probook 4740s
    CPU:
    i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz (Ivy Bridge-MB PGA SV)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Ivy Bridge GT2), Radeon (not disabled)
    No correct resolution on internal 1600x900? No VGA out? :(
    I could still use some old PPC software through Rosetta...
    dg
     

Share This Page