Contribute
Register

Slow USB 3.0 speed

Joined
Apr 9, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VI HERO
CPU
i5-4670K OC 4.5 GHz
Graphics
GTX 780, HD 530
Fresh Mojave build with i5-4670k and Maximus VI Hero Z87 Board.

USB 3.0 flash drives are running at 40/40 compared to 75/160 on my macbook pro.

What could be wrong?
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VI HERO
CPU
i5-4670K OC 4.5 GHz
Graphics
GTX 780, HD 530
bump~those speeds seems like usb 2.0 speeds even though i am using the motherboard's usb 3.0 ports.
 
Joined
May 3, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5-F10
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
My USB was more or less okay* under HS, but under Mojave it's a slow moving pile of garbage. Under HS, I got away with the not-at-all recommended no-really-don't-do-this leaving USBInjectAll installed. Not so much under Mojave. I'm still trying to troubleshoot some things about this process of creating a custom config and going through the docs myself, so I don't have any direct answers or suggestions other than spending some time with @RehabMan's guides -

* https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-10-11-usb-changes-and-solutions.173616/
* https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-creating-a-custom-ssdt-for-usbinjectall-kext.211311/

* I happened to have a third party USB 3.0 PCI card from an old MacPro that I threw into my Hackintosh, because the MOBO USB 3.0 ports only sort of worked, but the PCI card ports worked great without anything more than UIA in HS.
 
Joined
May 3, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5-F10
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
After way too many hours spent on this, I finally got it fixed. One problem was that I didn't have all of the correct port limit patches in place (there are three, at least for 10.14.4). The limit patches seem to be fairly closely tied to the point version release of macOS, so if you're not on 10.14.4, you may end up needing to either upgrade or look for patches that match your OS version.

I found using Hackintool was way easier to deal with than IORegistry. There's no comparison. Hackintool also includes a very pithy, built-in help doc guide for fixing up the USB ports.

HTH
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VI HERO
CPU
i5-4670K OC 4.5 GHz
Graphics
GTX 780, HD 530
After way too many hours spent on this, I finally got it fixed. One problem was that I didn't have all of the correct port limit patches in place (there are three, at least for 10.14.4). The limit patches seem to be fairly closely tied to the point version release of macOS, so if you're not on 10.14.4, you may end up needing to either upgrade or look for patches that match your OS version.

I found using Hackintool was way easier to deal with than IORegistry. There's no comparison. Hackintool also includes a very pithy, built-in help doc guide for fixing up the USB ports.

HTH
Does Hackintool fix the USB 3.0 Speed?
 
Joined
May 3, 2017
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5-F10
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Does Hackintool fix the USB 3.0 Speed?
By itself (ie automatically), no. As noted above, you need to correct port limit patches first.

After installing the port limit patches is when Hackintool comes into play. Hackintool provides a concise explanation of what to do, a much more focused view of the USB hardware status than IORegistry, and will generate the necessary set of config files based on your input. You choose which set of config files to use ("OR"), drop them into the right place on the EFI/Clover partition, reboot and should be good to go.

I ended up using the kext Hackintool generated, but I'm not completely sure it matters which option you choose. It probably does in some cases.

I never got what I think are the right list of ports to show up. At first, there weren't enough - I was missing the SS/USB3 ports I thought should exist. More showed up once I got the port limit patches sorted. But after that, there were way more ports listed than I actually have, which confused me for a little while. I ended up ignoring that "glitch" and just going ahead with configuring the ports I could make turn green in Hackintool. That seemed to do the trick well enough for what I needed.
 
Top