Security Update 2016-003 for 10.11.6

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by imrazor, Dec 17, 2016.

  1. imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 17, 2016 at 6:49 PM #1
    imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Just had this pop up in available updates. Has anyone tried installing it? Any glitches?
     
  2. mirz

    mirz

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Dec 19, 2016 at 10:10 PM #2
    mirz

    mirz

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Have updated my Brix i7-5775 to 003. Went without trouble. Just usb and audio I had to re-install.
     
  3. imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 21, 2016 at 7:29 PM #3
    imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for posting. Upgraded last night, just had to reinstall the NVidia web driver and restore my backed up AppleAHCIPort.kext. This update seemed pretty extensive for a mere security update.
     
  4. nomad411

    nomad411

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    I5-6600K 3.50 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N75TWF2OC-4GI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Dec 27, 2016 at 2:39 AM #4
    nomad411

    nomad411

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    I5-6600K 3.50 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N75TWF2OC-4GI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    I'm a fresh n00b at this, build and installed the hackie I'm typing on in the last few weeks. When I installed that update before, it blew up my system, could't boot, and not knowing what to do I just reinstalled the OS, 'cuz at that point I could.

    Now my system is all built and up to date, except that patch. BUT all my data is on it so I don't dare test it yet. Is it normal that there is so little response to a thread like this? Or maybe it's because of the holidays? :)

    In any case, Loving this Hackintosh Life.
     
  5. imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 27, 2016 at 3:25 AM #5
    imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I think the holidays are one reason, but I think another is that most users of this site like to be on the cutting edge. We're both a little behind the curve because we're still on El Capitan, 10.11. I actually prefer it that way, since I don't have to deal with a constant stream of gut-clenching updates. I'm also using a hack to allow Windows to use Intel RAID without having to twiddle BIOS settings everytime I boot up, and I'm not at all sure the same hack would work with Sierra.
     
    nomad411 likes this.
  6. nomad411

    nomad411

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    I5-6600K 3.50 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N75TWF2OC-4GI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Dec 27, 2016 at 9:19 PM #6
    nomad411

    nomad411

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    I5-6600K 3.50 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N75TWF2OC-4GI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Makes sense. I had so many issues when I first tried using Sierra, I decided to chicken out and fall back to El Capitan..

    Now that I'm settled and have backups, maybe I will chance it again. Would be nice to finally find out what the big Whoop is about having Siri onboard :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  7. imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 28, 2016 at 7:46 PM #7
    imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    From what I understand the Siri integration is kind of limited. It works for web searches, but it's not as useful for voice commands as it is on iOS. I need to catch up on some reviews of Sierra...
     
  8. nomad411

    nomad411

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    I5-6600K 3.50 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N75TWF2OC-4GI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Dec 29, 2016 at 4:18 AM #8
    nomad411

    nomad411

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
    CPU:
    I5-6600K 3.50 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GV-N75TWF2OC-4GI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    We're still far away from "Siri, make me a coffee" then.. This is running so well right now with El Capitan, I might just stick with it.
     
  9. imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 29, 2016 at 8:50 PM #9
    imrazor

    imrazor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Asus P8Z77-V LK
    CPU:
    Intel i5-3570K @ Stock
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX670 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    El Cap is working better for me than Yosemite. I tried the same Intel RAID hack with Yosemite, and it worked up to 10.10.2, then 10.10.3 broke it. I still have Yosemite on an old 2.5" Toshiba drive in case of emergencies. The biggest improvement in El Cap for me is the Apple Mail client - Yosemite took forever to update Gmail.
     
  10. Emerican06

    Emerican06

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Dec 30, 2016 at 12:55 AM #10
    Emerican06

    Emerican06

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    I updated everything but the security update and it works like a charm.
     
    nomad411 likes this.

Share This Page