Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Second monitor graphics card for CustoMac Mini 2011

Hi, I've spent the last hour or so searching for an answer to this but can't seem to find it.

I have a 2011 Customac mini (sandybridge) I made and has been running basically very well since I had it - about 2 years. I have a video editing job coming up and would like to add a second monitor and my understanding is I can add a graphics card. The second HDMI on the mother board doesn't work & I don't want to use VGI. It doesn't have DVI

My understanding is I need a low power card and the problem is that the 3 that are mentioned in Tony's build instructions are no longer available.

Can someone recommend (or refer me to thread) a low cost, low power card that would fit in the APEX MI-008 Mini-ITX with 250w PSU and give me a second monitor? Obviously I am a newbie but can any of the cards that will work in this set up work natively under 10.8.3.

Any insight appreciated, Thanks

OS10.8.2

joe,

You should be able to get a low profile 600 series card to fit inside the case, something like a GT640 would run both monitors and give better graphics power than HD3000 Intel graphics - the downside is that I think that PSU would need to be upgraded in order to cope. I would suggest something like this : http://www.bequiet.com/en/powersupply/47

Adjust your bios settings to allow the card to have priority, set GE no at boot screen and run multiBeast to set GE no permanently.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...6xx-kepler-cards-work-graphicsenabler-no.html

Adrian B

Adrian, Thank you for the reply. My research did lead me to the 6xx series but I don't think I have room for the fan - I only have 1" from the PCI slot to the side of the case. After much searching on google (evidently the best way to search for this is to simply search for the specific graphics card and "hackintosh" in the same search que and it finds the threads.