Contribute
Register

RX 570 on El Capitan Showing as Display 7MB

Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3P-F14
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello Good People,

Is there a way that El Capitan can detect an RX 570 (4gb) gpu? I was lucky enough to bump into a good deal and have bought an HIS RX 570 4gb Turbo for a steal. After taking out the 5770, I placed the 570 into may current El Capitan build, however it just displays that I have a 'Display 7mb'.

I have tried to tinker a few values using clover configurator (Inject ATI) however it detected my card as a Radeon 4330. Should this really be the end of the road for El Capitan with my RX 570? Would really hate to upgrage OSX as this has been a stable build for me.

My current build is on my signature along with the upgrades/part changes.

TIA
 
Last edited:

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
4,425
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello Good People,

Is there a way that El Capitan can detect an RX 570 (4gb) gpu? I was lucky enough to bump into a good deal and have bought an HIS RX 570 4gb Turbo for a steal. After taking out the 5770, I placed the 570 into may current El Capitan build, however it just displays that I have a 'Display 7mb'.

I have tried to tinker a few values using clover configurator (Inject ATI) however it detected my card as a Radeon 4330. Should this really be the end of the road for El Capitan with my RX 570? Would really hate to upgrage OSX as this has been a stable build for me.

My current build is on my signature along with the upgrades/part changes.

TIA
No, El Capitan has no support for the RX 570. You need at least Sierra 10.12.6 (requires Lilu and WhateverGreen) or High Sierra 10.13.6 to be able to use a RX 570.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3P-F14
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
No, El Capitan has no support for the RX 570. You need at least Sierra 10.12.6 (requires Lilu and WhateverGreen) or High Sierra 10.13.6 to be able to use a RX 570.
Thanks 007.

Looks like I'll be going with Mojave then.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Biostar G41D3
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 2,79 GHz
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS
Mac
iMac
Thanks 007.

Looks like I'll be going with Mojave then.
Hello @moyg, I have an RX 470 that I want to use in High Sierra 10.13.6 but so far I have not been successful. Could you please show your progress with your RX 570 if you can enable it?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3P-F14
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @moyg, I have an RX 470 that I want to use in High Sierra 10.13.6 but so far I have not been successful. Could you please show your progress with your RX 570 if you can enable it?
Hi @Rodolfo2909, I'm now in the process of creating a USB stick for Mojave. The feedback I have gathered is that it is natively supported on 10.14.x. Will give you an update if I ever get it to work.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Biostar G41D3
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 2,79 GHz
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS
Mac
iMac
Hi @Rodolfo2909, I'm now in the process of creating a USB stick for Mojave. The feedback I have gathered is that it is natively supported on 10.14.x. Will give you an update if I ever get it to work.
You will make the attempt in 10.14. In that case, it is sure that it works for you. I tried to enable it in 10.14 as well, but due to hardware incompatibility I could not achieve a full acceleration, although my system loaded and detected perfectly RX 470 but with 5 mb and mine is 4 GB. The problem is due to my CPU which is a Core 2 Duo and I need at least one i3 for a theme of AMD Drivers in Mojave. That's why I'm looking to enable it in High Sierra. In any case, if you also prove it in High Sierra 10.13.6 you give me the warning, please.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3P-F14
CPU
i5-750
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
You will make the attempt in 10.14. In that case, it is sure that it works for you. I tried to enable it in 10.14 as well, but due to hardware incompatibility I could not achieve a full acceleration, although my system loaded and detected perfectly RX 470 but with 5 mb and mine is 4 GB. The problem is due to my CPU which is a Core 2 Duo and I need at least one i3 for a theme of AMD Drivers in Mojave. That's why I'm looking to enable it in High Sierra. In any case, if you also prove it in High Sierra 10.13.6 you give me the warning, please.
Hi @Rodolfo2909,

I'm now on 10.14.3. I did encounter a few challenges along the way but seeing the the Dark Mode first hand made it worth it. Thanks to the tremendous help from the contributors here in the community.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Biostar G41D3
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 2,79 GHz
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS
Mac
iMac
Hi @Rodolfo2909,

I'm now on 10.14.3. I did encounter a few challenges along the way but seeing the the Dark Mode first hand made it worth it. Thanks to the tremendous help from the contributors here in the community.
Hello @moyg, I'm glad that you already have your system working. I still can not make it work because I have to update my motherboard and CPU.
 
Top