Onboard Intel 4000 HD with Dual Monitors
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello All
I've been using my cherished Hackintosh for the past 4 years, an aging Gigabyte EP35, nVidia GT8800 (2x 20-inch monitors running 1050 x 1680), 8gb RAM and core2duo CPU. I have Snow Leopard 10.6.7. I have a reasonably large case on the floor, 3 drive bays, including an integrated, swappable 2tb for TimeMachine backups. Every 10 or so months, I take it out and put in the safe.

I primarily use this machine for iWork and for Lightroom / Photoshop Elements / Premiere cs4 . I have a couple hundred gig of family photos.

I want to update my system. I am torn between the GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UP5 TH LGA 1155 in my existing Antec 900 case, or a smaller system, the Mini-ITX GIGABYTE GA-Z77N-WIFI LGA 1155 (HDMI), which has dual HDMI for video, encased in a LIAN LI PC-Q16A Silver Aluminum Mini-ITX Tower Computer Case 300W Power Supply.

I'm leaning towards the much smaller Mini-ITX system. As with all things, space is a precious and difficult-to-find commodity. All things being equal, I'd go for the full-size system and a powerful CUDA-enabled graphics adapter hands down, without debate or second though. However, all things are not equal, and space is an important consideration.

Video Adapter selection is my important question... Can I get good graphics performance for the 3 listed Adobe programs on a dual-monitor 1920x1080 resolution with the integrated Intel HD4000 graphics if the system is outfitted with 16gb Ram and an Ivy Bridge quadcore i7 CPU? My plan is to also have an SSD for OS / Applicaitons, and a 1tb hd for data (iTunes library, Photos, Video projects, etc.)

I never use games on my system.

thank you for any hands-on experience advice you have to share.

-dave

I'm sorry, I should maybe have mentioned that the other application I'll use is Virtualization, with Parallels 8, to run 1 or 2 simultaneous Win7 64-bit VMs for compatibility with MS office / VPN, etc.