1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm not really a newbie, but I'm very newbie-ish... call me a sophomore.
I have a Yosemite Hack that a friend built for me using Clover a couple years ago.
it works reasonably well, but it has occasional reboot issues and USB drama.

It's based on a...
  • Gigabyte GA-Z97X-GAMING 7 ATX Mother board,
  • an i7-4790K Intel processor
  • a GT 740 SC Graphics Card
I'd like to upgrade it to either Big Sur or Monterey using Open Core.
I think I want to go with a clean install and skip the existing system.
I have modded a couple HP 8300 Elites into Hacks using Open Core and I have a better understanding than I did a few years ago.

I'm studying on Dortania, but, I have some questions since I wasn't the architect of the Yosmite Build.

My questions are:
Should I refer to the old Yosemite Clover Configurator info for details to help me?
Can I make the boot drive on an external HD, or do I have to erase the existing HD or do I need to start with a fresh HD?

Any feedback would be greatly supported.

Many thanks in advance.

Out

Keep your working installation!

You'll boot from a USB thumbdrive, install to a new drive (or at least a free partition) and only move the OpenCore EFI to the drive when all is worked out. It should be possible to recycle the USB map, but other than that, settings from an old version of Clover are not likely to be of much help.

GT740 won't work with Monterey.

Last edited:
Keep your working installation!

You'll boot from a USB thumbdrive, install to a new drive (or at least a free partition) and only move the OpenCore EFI to the drive when all is worked out.
GT740 won't work with Monterey.
Many thanks for the swift response, etorix. I do recall seeing something about GT740 not being support, but that GT710 was, which I think I have somewhere around here too.

OK.
So, This really looks like my experience with the HP 8300s.