Contribute
Register

Probook4530S i5 CPU Only Running at 800mhz

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
hp probook 4350s
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel hd3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi everyone i have just installed Lion on my Probook 4530S, everything seems to be running fine but for some reason the i5 2450M cpu that should be running at 2.5ghz only appears to be running at 800mhz. I am new to hackintosh so this is my first attempt, is there something simple i am missing?
I have run Geekbench and got the following result:

http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/view/982643

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone i have just installed Lion on my Probook 4530S, everything seems to be running fine but for some reason the i5 2450M cpu that should be running at 2.5ghz only appears to be running at 800mhz. I am new to hackintosh so this is my first attempt, is there something simple i am missing?
I have run Geekbench and got the following result:

http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/view/982643

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Well, your GB score definitely indicates running at faster than 800Mhz.

Did you see this thread: http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook/64293-4330-showing-800mhz-798-i3-2310m.html#post431586
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
hp probook 4350s
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel hd3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you for that i had not seen the thread, i tried this and it did work the cpu was showing at the correct 2.4ghz. However as soon as i reboot it goes back to showing 800mhz, the gb score does not seem to be affected around 6000 on 32 bit or 6600 on 64bit so i seem to be just a visual glitch.
As this does not seem to affect the actual speed of the computer i will just leave it be, maybe updating the bios would sort it out.

Thank you again
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for that i had not seen the thread, i tried this and it did work the cpu was showing at the correct 2.4ghz. However as soon as i reboot it goes back to showing 800mhz, the gb score does not seem to be affected around 6000 on 32 bit or 6600 on 64bit so i seem to be just a visual glitch.
As this does not seem to affect the actual speed of the computer i will just leave it be, maybe updating the bios would sort it out.

Thank you again

It could have something to do with the System Profile you choose. I seem to recall someone using iMac system profile and running into issues like that. But yeah, it is just cosmetic (even so, it would drive me crazy...)
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you for that i had not seen the thread, i tried this and it did work the cpu was showing at the correct 2.4ghz. However as soon as i reboot it goes back to showing 800mhz, the gb score does not seem to be affected around 6000 on 32 bit or 6600 on 64bit so i seem to be just a visual glitch.
As this does not seem to affect the actual speed of the computer i will just leave it be, maybe updating the bios would sort it out.

Thank you again

Mine has always displayed the correct 2.1 for my i3-2310m. But today... I looked... and it was showing 800Mhz. WTF? Decided to do some poking around to see if I could figure out why. Not sure why it was working before, but I found that if I added the following lines to /Extra/SMBios.plist... I've got 2.1 GHz displayed again:

Code:
	<key>SMmaximalclock</key>
	<string>2100</string>

Maybe give it a try...
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
hp probook 4350s
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel hd3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have updated the bios and the problem has gone, it is now sowing 2.4ghz. However i think i may have changed something in the bios when i restored to bios defaults as now the computer is running much slower, the GB rating is now around 1700 it was 6600 before. It must be something in bios as i have formatted and reinstalled the os and still the same.
This happened before i updated the bios, but i hoped the update might sort out the problem. If anyone could offer any suggestions it would be much appreciated.

Thank you
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have updated the bios and the problem has gone, it is now sowing 2.4ghz. However i think i may have changed something in the bios when i restored to bios defaults as now the computer is running much slower, the GB rating is now around 1700 it was 6600 before. It must be something in bios as i have formatted and reinstalled the os and still the same.
This happened before i updated the bios, but i hoped the update might sort out the problem. If anyone could offer any suggestions it would be much appreciated.

Thank you

That sounds more like a speedstep/SSDT issue. Are you sure you have a correct /Extra/ssdt.aml for your CPU?
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
hp probook 4350s
CPU
i5
Graphics
intel hd3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I used the Probook Installer for the SSDT but i am sure that i selected the correct cpu (i5 2450m), would it be worth trying a different version of the installer?

Thanks
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,689
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I used the Probook Installer for the SSDT but i am sure that i selected the correct cpu (i5 2450m), would it be worth trying a different version of the installer?

Thanks

I was thinking more along the lines of checking your bdmesg to see that the /Extra/ssdt.aml is loading, and that it looks proper in /Extra/ssdt.aml.

In your bdmesg you should see something like:
Code:
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/DSDT.aml] 144881 bytes.
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/SSDT.aml] 721 bytes.
ACPI table not found: SSDT-1.aml
FADT: Restart Fix applied!
FADT: Using custom DSDT!
RSDT: Added 1 SSDT table(s)
FADT: Restart Fix applied!
FADT: Using custom DSDT!
Added 1 SSDT table(s) into XSDT

The size of the /Extra/ssdt.aml would be different for your i5 vs. my i3, of course.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top