Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
[TL;DR - Pro Tools 9 won't install (Input/output error)]

Hello everyone

This is my first time posting on this board (or really any online discussion board for that matter) so please forgive me if I am overlooking any basic discussion board etiquette or if I have omitted some crucial information. This is all new to me and I look forward to learning along the way!

I've never been a very computer savvy person but I recently took a HUGE leap and decided to build myself a Hackintosh (largely as a cost saving maneuver). I have been making beats & instrumentals in my free time, but it's a hobby I take very seriously, so I decided to invest in a new music-dedicated computer.

Here's everything I've done up until now:
1) Assembled the hardware
2) Ran I-Boot
3) Installed Snow Leopard
4) Updated to 10.6.7
5) Via Multibeast, installed 'EasyBeast' and 'System Utilities'
6) Physically installed M-Audio sound card
7) Unsuccessfully attempted to deal with the M-Audio software and get my computer to recognize the new card (*)
8) Via Multibeast, installed VoodooHDA 0.2.72
8) Successfully installed Audacity, Wavepad, and Reason 5
9) Unsuccessfully attempted to install ProTools 9 (the reason given was "Input/output error")

Can anyone help me figure out what is wrong / how to fix this? My hardware specs should be listed in my signature

Thanks so much

(*) - while I do want to get the M-Audio card running, the motherboard has a decent built-in sound card, so for the time being, I don't really care - getting Pro Tools installed is a much higher priority!

It might be how you've defined you Hack when you ran MultiBeast. What is your system defined as in the System Profiler? Check your Pro Tools system requirements. You may have defined your Hack as a Mac that's not compatible with the version of Pro Tools your trying to install.

Thanks for your response!

I ran system profiler, and my computer is listed as: Mac3, 1