Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi all,

I'm new here, and this will be my first computer build. Very excited! Please bear in mind I'm practically a complete novice. I'm particularly interested to hear BoomR's thoughts on this!

Build aims:

• I'd like to build an i7 desktop to run Pro Tools 10/11 (and future versions) as my bedroom studio's base system.
  • Ideally, it would be capable of running W7 and / or OSX.
  • My budget is £1000 ($1650).

Context:
  • I use Pro Tools in my bedroom to write alt-pop / rock music, developing sessions from initial ideas with MIDI instruments to complete recorded productions.
  • I record and mix music for a handful of bands.
  • I record in multiple generally unorthodox locations.
  • I travel frequently, listening to music when I'd prefer to be writing!
  • Alongside this build, I intend to buy a sub-£400 ($650) Windows laptop running Pro Tools 10/11 for recording on-location, and for writing when travelling. The writing session files wouldn't be intensive. I would transfer the session files to my base system to fully produce.
  • Current system (full spec available if necessary):
    • 2008 HP A6612UK (Vista) desktop PC + WD Blue 500GB internal audio drive
    • Digidesign 003 Rack Factory FireWire (400 6-pin) audio interface
    • Pro Tools LE 8 & Music Production Toolkit 2
    • AKG K701 & Sennheiser HD 25-C ii headphones
    • Maxtor OneTouch 500GB external HDD
    • Logitech wireless mouse & keyboard

I figured it'd be a good idea to cross-reference component compatibility advice from these forums with the Pro Tools community forums i7 builds thread, as to come up with a build spec that is fully Pro Tools and Hackintosh compatible.

-SPEC DRAFT 1-
Based on CustoMac mATX (June 2014)
MB: GA-Z87-HD3 (ATX)
CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K
GFX: GeForce GT 640
RAM: ​Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 16GB 1600Mhz DDR3 (8x2)
SSD: 1 x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
HDD: 2 x WD Black 1TB, 1 x WD Blue 500GB