Please give advise about changing an i5 4670k with i7 4790k

Discussion in 'Customization' started by hiluxtonka2, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. hiluxtonka2

    hiluxtonka2

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-UD5H Z87R
    CPU:
    i5-4670K Haswell Quad-Core 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS R9280X-DC2T-3GD5 Graphics Cards x2
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Feb 12, 2018 at 3:16 AM #1
    hiluxtonka2

    hiluxtonka2

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z87X-UD5H Z87R
    CPU:
    i5-4670K Haswell Quad-Core 3.4GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS R9280X-DC2T-3GD5 Graphics Cards x2
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    G'day all. I have been successfully running my Hack for a few years now. Mostly used for FCPX. I love my 2 graphics cards but was considering swapping out my i5 4670k for an i7 4790k Devils Canyon LGA1150
    My question is, if I were to undertake such a transplant, would I have to do a fresh install of MacOS Sierra (I am running Sierra currently) or would it just be a "plug 'n' play" type deal?

    Thanks for any tips in advance.
     
  2. hellotheremac

    hellotheremac

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG GTX1080 STRIX / Intel Integrated Graphics HD4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 12, 2018 at 7:15 PM #2
    hellotheremac

    hellotheremac

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Motherboard:
    ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG GTX1080 STRIX / Intel Integrated Graphics HD4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hi there, I don't think you would have to reinstall macOS at all. This is because the kernel is pretty much plug and play. It doesn't need to install anything for it work on another CPU. I am currently running an i7 4790K on High Sierra and it works absolutely great! I think that your upgrade will go smoothly. Just make sure to boot with NullCPUPowerManagement the first time and generate a new SSDT for the new CPU, after which you can delete the NullCPUPowerManagement kext.
     
    hiluxtonka2 likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice