Contribute
Register

pastrychef's testing machine - HP Elite 8300 SFF - i7-3770 - GT 630

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi guys,
I will need to reinstall my HP Elite 8300 SFF hackintosh making it dualboot with MacOS and Windows. So i have three quick questions.

1 - Is the initial guide on the first page up-to-date so I can follow it or there is something I will need to add to it?
2 - Can anyone point me out to a guide for multiboot set up from scratch?
3 - Does anybody know a FireWire card that will work with this setup for sure?

Thanks
This guide is outdated and I no longer have this system. You are better off going to the following guide:
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,014
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I will need to reinstall my HP Elite 8300 SFF hackintosh making it dualboot with MacOS and Windows.
Hopefully you know that you are limited to High Sierra if you want to use the GT 1030. So yes, you can follow my High Sierra guide and create a dual boot system with Windows 10. You should not use VoodooHDA as the video shows, instead use Apple ALC kext and Lilu kexts installed to Clover/kexts/other folder, to enable the audio. ALC221 now has full support from within AppleALC and works with the helper Lilu Kext installed. This is how you add the layout-id in your config.plist Devices/Properties:

Screen Shot.jpg



Before you do that it's important to read Going Bald's "MultiBooting UEFI on Separate Drives" guide and decide what install sequence you will use. I wouldn't suggest putting each OS on the same system drive but you can do that if you are prepared to deal with more potential complications and are meticulous about backing up your data.


Also required reading:
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
357
Motherboard
HP 8300 CMT
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
MacBook Pro
1. There is another 8300 thread with a different method which is a newer method. That said I have used this guide but lost track of tweaks etc.
2. I have not done any multiboot.
3. Sorry can't help.

Your GT1030 graphics may not be supported in latest MacOS?
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
HP8300 Elite SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GT 1030
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi guys,

I'm stuck with the installing High Sierra for some reason.
I choose to do a clean install.
What I did:
- downloaded High Sierra installer
- downloaded UniBeast-8.4.0 and created a bootable USB flash drive to install from
- set up the BIOS:
Storage​
Storage Options​
SATA Emulation > AHCI​
Removable Media Boot > Enabled​
Security​
Secure Boot Configuration​
Legacy Support > Disabled​
Secure Boot > Disabled​
Fast Boot > Enabled​
System Security​
Virtualization Technology Directed I/O (VTd) > Disabled​
Network Boot > Disabled​
Advanced​
Onboard Devices
Serial Port A > Disabled​
Device Options
Turbo > Enabled
Integrated Video > Disabled
Multi-Processor > Enabled
Hyperthreading > Enabled​

- restarted the PC, booted from the UniBeast USB Flash Drive and then... the problems begin

I am experiencing 3 different scenarios.
The installation process stops randomly at 3 different stages.

1 - I am able to start the installation from UniBeast USB Flash Drive. Then I go to the Disc Utility and format the SSD. Then I choose to install on the newly formatted SSD and the process begins. Then it stops for some reason at this stage:

about_2_minutes_1080.jpg


2 - If the process continues after that then the PC restarts. I see the Clover bootloader, it recognizes the installer on the SSD and redirects to it. Than the installation process begins from the SSD but stops at this stage:

about_18_minutes.jpg


3 - If the installation continues after that then at some point the PC restarts and I see the Clover bootloader again. But now there is only one option - to start the installation from the USB. The installation process doesn't continue from the SSD.

Can anyone help me with this, please?
What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.
 

Attachments

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
16,014
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Can anyone help me with this, please?
What am I doing wrong?
This is normal, it's supposed to have the three auto reboots happen during the install. Why you can't see the hard drive in Clover could be due to a number of things. Do you have the HFSplus.efi or the VBoxHFS.efi driver in the correct folder on your USB installer ?
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
HP8300 Elite SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GT 1030
Mobile Phone
Android
This is normal, it's supposed to have the three auto reboots happen during the install. Why you can't see the hard drive in Clover could be due to a number of things. Do you have the HFSplus.efi or the VBoxHFS.efi driver in the correct folder on your USB installer ?
I know that it's supposed to restart a couple of times but the problem is that the process completely stops after the PC restarts. This is what I found in my USB installer:

Screen Shot 2020-04-05 at 17.46.58.png
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I know that it's supposed to restart a couple of times but the problem is that the process completely stops after the PC restarts. This is what I found in my USB installer:

Screen Shot 2020-04-05 at 17.46.58.png
Please try booting in verbose mode and post a picture of where it stops.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2018
Messages
10
Motherboard
HP8300 Elite SFF
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GT 1030
Mobile Phone
Android
Please try booting in verbose mode and post a picture of where it stops.
Very strange...
I'm writing right now from the newly installed High Sierra.
When I reattached the SSD it showed up in Clover boot loader.
I chose it and the installation went to the end.
I didn't made any post installation changes yet.

Should I trust this handicapped installation?
Or maybe I should do it again in order to achieve it without any glitches?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
13,444
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Very strange...
I'm writing right now from the newly installed High Sierra.
When I reattached the SSD it showed up in Clover boot loader.
I chose it and the installation went to the end.
I didn't made any post installation changes yet.

Should I trust this handicapped installation?
Or maybe I should do it again in order to achieve it without any glitches?
If it were me, I would not bother with another install.
 
Top