Contribute
Register

pastrychef's Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WI-FI AC) build w/ i9-9900K + AMD Vega 56

Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
290
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A II-1001
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello!

So I have more or less completed my build and wanted to report back on some things I've found out that could potentially might help other people.

Catalina with the new AMD Radeon 5700 series

- 5700 series are supported on Catalina 10.15.1 out of the box (but needs WEG 1.3.4 and agdpmod pikera on the boot flags). However the installer has a bug so you can't use this GPU to install Catalina. I had to use the iGPU for that and then change it to the 5700. If you are doing an upgrade it shouldn't be a problem, just make sure you have WEG 1.3.4 and the boot flag.

- Avoid using iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS with Catalina 10.15.1 and the 5700 Series. It will freeze/kernel panic after sleep. My workaround is to use iMac19,1 or just disable sleep. This is already fixed on Catalina 10.15.2 beta 1.

- Catalina 10.15.2 beta 1 fixes the installer problem, but well... it's a beta release. So if you wan to go stable, upgrade from Mojave to Catalina and it will work just fine.



FAQ on Gigabyte Titan Ridge running on an Asus motherboard

- Did you have to install Windows? No, I haven't installed Windows so far to "enable" the card as some guides suggest. I'm not saying it's not always necessary but looks like on my build is not needed.

- How do you have your TB3 card connected? It's on the latest x16 slot. The TB3 header is also connected as well as the USB header. PCIe power is also connected, but I think this is more for Power Delivery capabilities. I don't know if this works as I don't have any device to test it

- Does this card works natively on macOS? Yes, this is the same chip some of the new Macs use. If you get the Alpine Ridge card instead (previous version) it will work too.

- Why do you even bother with this card? It's the only way to get the LG Ultrafine 5k running at full REAL 5k. In order to do this you require to have 2 DisplayPort-in which both the Alpine and Titan Ridge provide.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
16,789
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello!

So I have more or less completed my build and wanted to report back on some things I've found out that could potentially might help other people.

Catalina with the new AMD Radeon 5700 series

- 5700 series are supported on Catalina 10.15.1 out of the box (but needs WEG 1.3.4 and agdpmod pikera on the boot flags). However the installer has a bug so you can't use this GPU to install Catalina. I had to use the iGPU for that and then change it to the 5700. If you are doing an upgrade it shouldn't be a problem, just make sure you have WEG 1.3.4 and the boot flag.

- Avoid using iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS with Catalina 10.15.1 and the 5700 Series. It will freeze/kernel panic after sleep. My workaround is to use iMac19,1 or just disable sleep. This is already fixed on Catalina 10.15.2 beta 1.

- Catalina 10.15.2 beta 1 fixes the installer problem, but well... it's a beta release. So if you wan to go stable, upgrade from Mojave to Catalina and it will work just fine.



FAQ on Gigabyte Titan Ridge running on an Asus motherboard

- Did you have to install Windows? No, I haven't installed Windows so far to "enable" the card as some guides suggest. I'm not saying it's not always necessary but looks like on my build is not needed.

- How do you have your TB3 card connected? It's on the latest x16 slot. The TB3 header is also connected as well as the USB header. PCIe power is also connected, but I think this is more for Power Delivery capabilities. I don't know if this works as I don't have any device to test it

- Does this card works natively on macOS? Yes, this is the same chip some of the new Macs use. If you get the Alpine Ridge card instead (previous version) it will work too.

- Why do you even bother with this card? It's the only way to get the LG Ultrafine 5k running at full REAL 5k. In order to do this you require to have 2 DisplayPort-in which both the Alpine and Titan Ridge provide.

I also didn't have to do anything in Windows for my Thunderbolt to work in macOS.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,638
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hmmm, I have not got the ASUS ThunderboltEX 3 card to work on MyHero Z170 system running macOS. Would you @bluepr0 and @pastrychef recommend the Gigabyte Titan Ridge card?

I wonder if would work on MyHero II Z370 which does not have a motherboard TB header.

I would appreciate your insights. TIA.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
16,789
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hmmm, I have not got the ASUS ThunderboltEX 3 card to work on MyHero Z170 system running macOS. Would you @bluepr0 and @pastrychef recommend the Gigabyte Titan Ridge card?

I wonder if would work on MyHero II Z370 which does not have a motherboard TB header.

I would appreciate your insights. TIA.

I really don't know... I just took a shot with the Gigabyte GC-Titan Ridge and hoped for the best... I was really lucky it worked out so easily. I chose the Gigabyte card because I was hoping it would work better with my Gigabyte motherboard. I don't know what the differences are between the Asus card and the Gigabyte card.

I did try to plug the Titan Ridge card in the my Z370 (which does NOT have a Thunderbolt header) and the card wasn't seen at all. I suspect that it may have been due to the fact that the PCI-e slot is direct to CPU and not passed through the PCH.

I suspect this because on my Gigabyte Z390, the slot used for Thunderbolt is passed through PCH while the PCI-e slot used for GPU has all 16 lanes that goes directly to CPU. On the Asus Z370, the two PCI-e x16 slots are bifurcated to x8 + x8 and are direct to CPU.

On your Maximus X Hero, you have two x16 slots that go to the CPU while the third x16 slot (which operates at x4) should go through the PCH. If the Thunderbolt card has any chance of working, I suspect that the third slot will have to be used.
 
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
290
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A II-1001
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hmmm, I have not got the ASUS ThunderboltEX 3 card to work on MyHero Z170 system running macOS. Would you @bluepr0 and @pastrychef recommend the Gigabyte Titan Ridge card?

I wonder if would work on MyHero II Z370 which does not have a motherboard TB header.

I would appreciate your insights. TIA.
The Titan ridge will only work with Z370 and up. In order to get it working on the Z170 you will have to go with the Alpine Ridge which is compatible with the Z170 chipset (see https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GC-ALPINE-RIDGE-rev-10#ov)
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming [WI-FI AC]
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
Vega 56
I have updated and now i have a black screen.
I won't get into the bios. There is also a black screen, after F2/DEL Message.
What can i do to get the machine work again?

EDIT:
OK,
"agdpmod=pikera" worked for me.

What do i have to do now?

Just update the EFI Folder to 5.1.5? Is it enough?
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
16,789
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have updated and now i have a black screen.
I won't get into the bios. There is also a black screen, after F2/DEL Message.
What can i do to get the machine work again?

EDIT:
OK,
"agdpmod=pikera" worked for me.

What do i have to do now?

Just update the EFI Folder to 5.1.5? Is it enough?

It would have been easier if you updated to EFI 5.1.5 prior to updating macOS... But yeah, you can do the update. Just copy/paste your Serial, Board Serial, and UUID from your working config.plist to the config.plist in EFI 5.1.5.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,638
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Titan ridge will only work with Z370 and up. In order to get it working on the Z170 you will have to go with the Alpine Ridge which is compatible with the Z170 chipset (see https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GC-ALPINE-RIDGE-rev-10#ov)
@CaseySJ has successfully used the Titan Ridge card in his ASUS X99 Deluxe II system as told here. Since ASUS' ThunderboltEX 3 card runs on both the ASUS X99 and MyHero builds, I think the Titan Ridge will also work. But, I'm gonna try to get the ASUS ThunderboltEX 3 card to work. If not, I'll try the Titan Ridge. (It's got to be BIOS settings.)
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
53
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone able to use the Apple TV app in Catalina? I tried it the other day and the content opens but none of it will play.
 
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
290
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A II-1001
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone able to use the Apple TV app in Catalina? I tried it the other day and the content opens but none of it will play.
I'm able to play the trailers, can't tell about the actual content because I don't have a subscription.
 
Top