CPU
i3-2105
Graphics
EVGA GTX 650
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I've been running El Cap for about a month with no issues. In fact, it's been great. I was running a build with Chameleon and sometimes had to boot without caches if it locked up, but Clover has been very consistent. I was using my Hack yesterday and put it to sleep when finished. This afternoon, I tapped the keyboard and was met with a spinning beachball. Minutes passed with no change, so I shut it down to restart. Now it won't boot.

So far, I've attempted to fix this by disconnecting everything but the keyboard and mouse. I've reset the bios settings, testing a few changes to no avail. Mostly the Apple screen pops up, shows the load bar at about 2/3, moves a bit and then reboots. At the moment, I've managed to get to a point where it goes to a "no disk" icon of the circle with a line through it.

Now I'm new to using UEFI and Clover, which I haven't been using until this latest build. I seem to recall on previous BIOS checks that "Clover" was a boot option. At the moment, I get three options for my system drive: Mac OS X, 240 GB drive, and the company who made the drive.

If my memory is good, is the sudden disappearance of the Clover boot option a sign of bad things happening? (Such as the drive failing)

Is there something else I can check? is there a way to boot without cache, providing that might help, without editing files on the drive?

Thanks

Please read and comply with the rules :
The Rules said:
Profiles need to contain at least your primary system to assist others with helping you

If you have multiple drives, check your bios to see if the correct drive is being booted up first.
Otherwise, it does sound like the disk went bad?

You said "sometimes had to boot without caches if it locked up,"... a computer suddenly locking up for no reason at all, could also point to a failing hard drive.