i7 - 3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys!

So I am brand new to the Hackintosh scene! I started thinking about a Hackintosh when I was googling info on the Mac Mini. Reason I was looking at the Mac Mini is simply that I was browsing craigslist for a Mac desktop I could use for editing my youtube videos. I have a 21.5" 2012 iMac at my office that I have done most of my editing on and I have a late 2011 13" MacBook Pro that I have tried to use to edit as well. The experience is sub par on both with the iMac having a better advantage for screen size.

So, I looked into the Mac Mini since its small and I can hook it up to a TV via HDMI so I can get a larger screen to work with. This TV would be at my desk in my office/man cave where I would also simply watch TV and play some occasional video games on my Playstation so it would be multipurpose.

But after some research it seems since the Mac Mini hasn't had an update since 2014, I won't see much of the performance I want out of it and still used prices hang around the $200-$350 range.

Then I discovered the hackintosh! Building a wildly more powerful machine for that same price. Though, price was still limiting me. As I was browsing the web absorbing info, I saw some YouTube videos of people taking windows computers from major manufacturers like Dell and HP and turning them into Hackintosh machines! And that to me makes so much sense! These computers don't have an overpriced resale market so you can often find decent hardware for less that what you would need to buy it all new!

So, my long winded post is now coming to an end! I have found someone selling some Dell Optiplex 9010 SFF with the i5 processor for a fair price at $145. Would this be a good platform for a Hackintosh computer? My limited knowledge leads me to believe so but I wanted to check with those who know more than me!

Thanks in advance!