1. 512K
  2. iMac
  3. Performa
  4. Power Mac
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Windows Phone
I am new to the Hackintosh scene, but I've been around computers and tech for 35 years.
I decided to build my own Hackintosh based on the great resources and community here. I ordered all my parts of the latest Buyer's guide and assembled it. No issues from the hardware side so I proceeded to installation.

Following the installation guide TO THE LETTER I have had a lot of problems. I've posted in the related forums, but I started to realize after 9 installations (I keep having to restart since things get screwed up.) that Clover is my problem. Or rather, my inability to understand what is going on.

Let me explain:

There is the Clover boot manager that is installed from your Unibeast based install. That appears to be an older version (black screen)

When tying to fix the video issues I was having to get the NVIDIA driver loaded, I followed the guide here at problem six which says to download another installer called Clover. When I use that, bam...new white screen boot manager. Ok, so that version I just downloaded did that overwrite what is on my EFI that Unibeast installed? I don't know

Ok, so now I need to get power / sleep behaving. So I open up the clover configuration app (which now prompts me for an update...do I take it or not? I don't know) to edit the plist file and check the proper box and then when I save it and reboot...now it appeared I screwed up my original clover boot manager so than I have to start all over again. (Side note: When I check the various boxes in that clover config tool..where does it save it? When I open my plist in TextEdit I don't see any related entries)

And then, if I choose update from within the clover configurator - what does that do? Do I want that? Does that update the boot manager? Or is that just configuration clover app? I can see a newer version is available for install...but it's unclear if I should update.