Contribute
Register

My first Hackintosh, I need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Z490D > Need make and full model name > See Rules!
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
GT 730
Hi folks,

I just discovered this amazing forum, and I'm very excited to try the Hackingtosh for the first time ! In an other life, I worked on MacOS 9, then I swap to Windows (and Linux/Unix for other purposes) and never went back. I have no experience with MacOS (macOS now ?).

These days I do music production, under Windows with Reaper. I have a lot of Universal Audio stuff that works OK under Windows (2 x Thunderbolt Apollo + PCI-E DSP card). But as Windows user we are left alone by UA for some things, especially for their DAW : LUNA. I want to use it but I don't want to throw away all my working hardware setup and buy a locked and very expensive Apple computer.

So the best solution for me seems to be ... Hackintosh !

But I can't affort to interrupt too long my audio activities, so I try to plan a migration scenario and I need some support :)

So here are my (noob) questions :

1. I need 3 screens. I have a Z490 version D motherboard with onboard HDMI and DP port + a Nvidia GT730 that should apparently work with BigSur. I'm not sure if I will update or install Monterey so I need to know if I will be able to use both onboard ports for at least 2 extended screens ? I could buy an ATI card if needed but I need to have a working solution at the beginning.
  2. Is it a viable solution to not update/upgrade macOS at all in the long run, putting aside the security issues ? I mean in need a working and stable environment and I won't be able to take "down time" once I have a working Hackintosh. For instance, I have disabled Windows update on my current rig to be sure that nothing will break. I test all the changes on an another environement to be sure not to let stability issue arise