Mooner's HackPro (Gigabyte Z68MX-UD2H-B3 in Mac Pro case)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro Mods' started by mooner, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. Jeffinslaw

    Jeffinslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme7 X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820
    Graphics:
    Diamond AMD Radeon 7970 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 5, 2012 at 8:36 AM #141
    Jeffinslaw

    Jeffinslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme7 X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820
    Graphics:
    Diamond AMD Radeon 7970 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks but I'm not sure what I'm looking at there because the pictures are all of the same for the different items.

    Jeffinslaw
     
  2. mooner

    mooner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    Core 2 Quad
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    Jul 5, 2012 at 3:51 PM #142
    mooner

    mooner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    Core 2 Quad
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    Hi Jeff-

    I'm not sure what you think I can do about it. They've got a crappy website, what can I say??

    The page I referenced is for this product (which is what I used):


    P/N Part Description
    SZ-DCMSAS-R14X
    MaxConnect SAS/SATA Link for PCI Express Controller with MiniSAS to 4x SATA Cable
    MaxConnect SAS/SATA Link
    MiniSAS to 4x SATA Cable
     
  3. Jeffinslaw

    Jeffinslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme7 X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820
    Graphics:
    Diamond AMD Radeon 7970 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 5, 2012 at 8:26 PM #143
    Jeffinslaw

    Jeffinslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme7 X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820
    Graphics:
    Diamond AMD Radeon 7970 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No worries about the website, not in our control :lol:

    Thanks for the link! I think I might just get a different RAID card or something...

    Jeffinslaw
     
  4. mooner

    mooner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    Core 2 Quad
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    Jul 6, 2012 at 1:47 AM #144
    mooner

    mooner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    Core 2 Quad
    Graphics:
    nVidia

    Jeff -- which RAID card do you have and what are you trying to do??
     
  5. Jeffinslaw

    Jeffinslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme7 X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820
    Graphics:
    Diamond AMD Radeon 7970 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 6, 2012 at 4:35 AM #145
    Jeffinslaw

    Jeffinslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme7 X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820
    Graphics:
    Diamond AMD Radeon 7970 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I got the RocketRAID 620 by HighPoint and I was just trying to figure out a way to attach more than two drives to it but I think I'll just leave it as is. Currently running W7 until I get my case done modding then I'll work on getting Lion, actually by the time I'm done, Mountain Lion will be out, to work on it. Going to be interesting since I'm using an i7 3820.

    Jeffinslaw
     
  6. mooner

    mooner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    Core 2 Quad
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    Jul 6, 2012 at 5:31 AM #146
    mooner

    mooner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    Core 2 Quad
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    How many drives are you planning to connect? If you're trying to enable all 4 Mac Pro drive sleds, this card is probably not the way to go.

    I'm guessing that you are looking for a PORT MULTIPLIER – not a SAS cable... Your RocketRAID 620 only has 2 SATA ports -- but it will support 5:1 port multipliers on each port (for a total of 10 supported drives). The Apple cable in your Mac Pro case is NOT a port multiplier cable... It is a SAS to SATA breakout cable -- there are actually 4 channels of full-speed SAS/SATA in that cable.

    So, IF ** BIG IF ** you wanted to use this card with the internal Mac Pro drive sleds, you would need to first get a port multiplier (1 SATA-in to 4 or 5 SATA-PM-out). The port multiplier is never just a cable -- it will require a small circuit board. Then, you would use the same hydra cable that I used to connect the 4 SATA-PM-out ports to the SAS barrel. Then connect the Apple SAS/SATA breakout cable to the other end of the barrel. This would be an even bigger mess than what is inside my machine...

    Alternatively, you could skip the port multiplier, but then you could only connect 2 drives to your card.

    Let me know if that makes sense...

    In my build, I used the SATA RAID ports on my motherboard (and turned off the RAID functionality in the BIOS). So each one of my drives mounts individually to the MacOS.

    Hope that helps.

    EDIT: I almost neglected the simple option -- of course, you could delete the Apple hot-swap cable all together... Simple SATA right-angle connectors on the back of the drives would work fine too. Still an issue if you want all 4 drives working...
     
  7. Jeffinslaw

    Jeffinslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme7 X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820
    Graphics:
    Diamond AMD Radeon 7970 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 6, 2012 at 9:13 AM #147
    Jeffinslaw

    Jeffinslaw

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Mobo:
    ASRock Extreme7 X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820
    Graphics:
    Diamond AMD Radeon 7970 x2
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm actually working on a G5 mod but what is this port multiplier you're talking about? I want to support 4 drives from my RAID card. I'll just use the software RAID option in OS X.

    Jeffinslaw
     
  8. mooner

    mooner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    Core 2 Quad
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    Jul 6, 2012 at 12:39 PM #148
    mooner

    mooner

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Mobo:
    HackPro
    CPU:
    Core 2 Quad
    Graphics:
    nVidia
    Take a look here:

    http://www.sata-io.org/technology/port_multipliers.asp

    Your HighPoint 620 only has 2 SATA ports... The only way you can connect more than 2 drives will be to use a port multiplier...
     
  9. owiegand

    owiegand

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Asus Saberthooth X79
    CPU:
    Inel 3930K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 680 4GB
    Jul 26, 2012 at 4:57 PM #149
    owiegand

    owiegand

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Asus Saberthooth X79
    CPU:
    Inel 3930K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 680 4GB
    Link Broken

    I am interested to in buying this adapter, but it seems that the link is broken. Has anyone found the new location of the product on their site. If you would pass the link along it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  10. eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,534
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 26, 2012 at 10:08 PM #150
    eelhead

    eelhead Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,534
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth X58
    CPU:
    i7 950 3.06GHz
    Graphics:
    Zotac GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    It is on their site http://www.maxupgrades.com
    I am unable to access this site from work at this time to pin point the part (my system admin doesn't like that site, :think:)

     

Share This Page