Contribute
Register

Looking for GPU recommendation (around $100-$200)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Asus Maximus V Gene
CPU
Intel i5 3570K
Graphics
MSI R6850 PE/OC
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There seems to be a literally countless amount of threads on graphic cards and their performance, yet I can not seem to find an answer to my question (as I am sure personal preference comes into play as well). With that in mind I apologize ahead of time if this has already been answered somewhere.

I am in the middle of building a hackintosh. All part are accounted for and ready to order, except for the GPU. I am a professional photographer and competitive (non-pro) Starcraft 2 player and I am looking for a GPU (around $100 - $200 USD) that will allow me to stream and play at the high to ultra settings level on at 1600x1050 resolution. Below is a list of the components being used in the build. I appreciate you all taking the time to help!

- Asus MAXIMUS V GENE Z77 mATX DDR3 Intel LGA 1155 Motherboard
- Intel Core i5 3570K Processor 3.4
- Corsair 8 GB Vengeance Blue Low Profile 1600mhz
- Corsair Builder Series CX600 600 watt 80 Plus Certified Power Supply

thelostswede said:
Get a Radeon HD 6870 before they sell out, as they work OOB and can be had for as little as $150 if you shop around. Newegg has an XFX card that's $140 after MIR

Will this card allow me to reach my goals without compromise?

I would say so, yes.
I have one (different brand, same GPU) and admittedly I play games in Windows, not OS X, but I play most games at high on a 2048x1152 resolution display no problem. Starcraft shouldn't be an issue at all. The card also has a wide range of display outputs and technically you should be able to hook up 3-4 screens to it no problem. Again, I've only used my card with two screens in OS X, which works just fine.

thelostswede said:
I would say so, yes.