Contribute
Register

Lenovo ThinkPad X230 (Tablet) compatibility?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
x230t Lenovo
CPU
i7-3520M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Exactly,

with IORegistryExplorer, I can see where Controller Mate is using the IOUSBHIDDriver driver but I have no idea how to change data in the ReportDescriptor to configure the good calibrations. I tried to kill the PID of the UserEventAgent of the original IOUserClientCreator to let Controller mate be the only controller, however, a new PID is created right after so it doesn't change anything. Their must be a simple way using IOKit to program or patch everything but I have no programming skills to attempt it.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Lenovo X230t
CPU
i5-3320m
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
By any chance, was that SSD a Crucial M4? If so, this may help: forum.crucial.com/t5/Solid-State-Dr...-that-wouldn-t-detect-in-the-BIOS/td-p/110964

Also, touch and pen support work FULLY in a virtual machine working on top of OS X. Took a bit of fnagling, but I was able to use OneNote with full pressure sensitivity and no adverse effects upon the partition. All you need to do is tell Vmware which partition is your "Boot Camp" volume.

Also, lu wi, you seem to know a lot more about this than I do. Use IOreg (you can find it online) to poke around in IOUSBHIDDriver.
 
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
x230t Lenovo
CPU
i7-3520M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Wow, this is one of the most weirdest and cool thing of this system, I didn't think that the virtualization could be that good, nice job for finding it.

Yeah, I checked it out for my SSD (M4 Crucial) and everything is fine at the moment. I plugged it into a sata to USB adapter to the laptop and after a while (approx. 10 min) in got detected and now, I've placed it back into the drive bay and it's behaving ok.

For IOReg, I don't know, I'll check into to it. If VMWare is capable of using the tablet perfectly, their must be a way to enable the same functions in the Hackintosh system.

Keep up the great work, I'm pretty sure we're all going to have one of the greatest and most intriguing hackintosh to date.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
16
Motherboard
GA-Z87-D3HP
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 780
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
How exactly do I get audio to work, along with my mic and headphone jack? I was using a VoodooHDA.kext a while ago to get my sound, but the mic and headphones were not working. I used a patched AppleHDA.kext along with some changes to my DSDT, but I think these were tailored to a x220, not a x230t, as it doesn't seem to be working at all this way, anyone hear that can shed some light to this? Also I'm having issues with sleep, the tablet goes to sleep just fine, but freezes as I wake it up, needing a force-shutdown then restart.

thank you guys so much, and I can't wait until more progress can be made with the pen and touch! this is going to be a great system if ever finished
 
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
x230t Lenovo
CPU
i7-3520M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Same problem here, I'm using VoodooHDA without mic/jack and didn't really look into it at the moment.

For sleep, I don't think I can help you either, check if your DSDT is patched ok (compare it with the one used by The Freeman) or maybe you have something connected to your pc that freezes it. Are you using 10.8.2? What kexts do you have that are patched? Maybe it's a kext problem.

Good luck!
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
16
Motherboard
GA-Z87-D3HP
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 780
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Yeah, I've patched up my DSDT to the same likes of The Freeman's, I made all the same changes that he did (as far as i can tell), but still no dice. nothing is hooked up to my tablet other than a wi-fi adaptor, which makes no difference whether it's plugged or not plugged in. so it MUST be a kext problem, which seems very possible since I've been just pulling in kexts from many different sources lol. These are the kexts i've dragged in:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=105334 (both the "Post Install" link and the FakeSMC link at the end of the post)

i believe that was all i used, i don't really know where to pinpoint down the problem though, unfortunately :(
 
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
x230t Lenovo
CPU
i7-3520M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I think that I used the same post install as you did. Do you still have nullcpupowermanagment.kext? The Freeman helped me with that one, when I removed that kext file, sleep/wake worked fine afterwards.

Maybe you could repatch the kext files as describe in the thinkpad forum. Also, I think that I'm using another FakeSMC, the newest one found in tonymac's multibeast, don't know if it changes anything for your problem.

Did you create your own SSDT?

Do you have the same org.chameleon.Boot file as described in the thinkpad forum?
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2012
Messages
36
Motherboard
Lenovo X230t
CPU
i5-3320m
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah, I've patched up my DSDT to the same likes of The Freeman's, I made all the same changes that he did (as far as i can tell), but still no dice. nothing is hooked up to my tablet other than a wi-fi adaptor, which makes no difference whether it's plugged or not plugged in. so it MUST be a kext problem, which seems very possible since I've been just pulling in kexts from many different sources lol. These are the kexts i've dragged in:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=105334 (both the "Post Install" link and the FakeSMC link at the end of the post)

i believe that was all i used, i don't really know where to pinpoint down the problem though, unfortunately :(

Yeah, I think you're missing an SSDT. It's NEEDED for full speedstepping and power management (including sleep and resume). Do NOT remove nullcpumanagment.kext until you've generated a working one (I posted the link in this post a while back) or else you will render your system unbootable as it searches for power managment info that isn't present.

As for audio, here's what I've been able to figure out: we don't have the same sound card as the X220t. Ours is an ALC 269VC. I'll post the link again, but I found a tutorial concerning patching Applehda to get support. Lu wi, you'll probably understand it more completely than I've been able to.

Ps. I uploaded an HDA a while ago that gave me sound out of my headphone jack. I took it from a guy who has a similar pin config in his Samsung.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
16
Motherboard
GA-Z87-D3HP
CPU
i5-4670K
Graphics
GTX 780
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
ok, i'll have a go at generating an SSDT, but while i'm doing that... I do have one more pretty large issue which is concerning me

i have not been able to properly setup dual-booting on a single hard drive on my x230t. I've been booting from my OS X installation flash drive just to use my mac partition. without it I only get chain booting errors, and I've tried googling and using solutions that people have given, but no dice. What is the proper way to get a dual-booting setup on a single hard drive? thank you so much you guys, you've been a great help!
 
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
11
Motherboard
x230t Lenovo
CPU
i7-3520M
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I never used the same hard drive to dual boot Win and OS X, at the moment I have OS X and Linux on a mSATA SSD, and Win 8 on the main SSD drive.

Maybe, you could try to install your MBR and Win OS on a single 2nd partition (if possible) then your EFI bootloader could take control of the drive??? Or else, you could like me and buy a second drive to connect to your mSATA ;)

Good luck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top