Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
***Who I am***
I am a person that can be best described as absolute newbie in terms of building CustoMacs aka Hackintoshs. I am/was a Pro Mac consumer with experiences since 2005 with respect to real Macs until lately when I bought a Mac Pro Late 2013 in order to see that it suffers from the same mediocre overall build quality Apples products all have (bad experience on my side, each Mac I bought went dead about 1,5 years after purchase; with 7 Macs this can't be called a statistical slip anymore to my mind). To make a long story short: I am working on my PhD thesis in a theoretical subject that involves being able to numerically simulate very extensive systems. I bought a Mac Pro for that purpose just to see that it can't fullfil my needs due to the fact that it is more often away because of repair than it is on my desk…

TL;DR: I heavily rely on tools like Mathematica, Matlab, custom routines written with C++ in combination with boost and friends that are very CPU and RAM consuming. And I really love macOS because I am a Mac user ever since.

***What I want***
I need a CustoMac that is more or less able to handle my heavy workload. I almost never update my system (due to incompatibility problems with numerical libraries). On my real Mac Pro Late 2013 I still rely on 10.10.4.

TL;DR: The requirements are: Very fast CPU/very fast RAM of >= 16 GB

***What I thought of***
I just read Nvidia's announcement of Pascal architecture GPUs (that is quite interesting for my studies due to Cuda, not for gaming) so I thought of the following system to replace my real Mac Pro (that is currently somewhere between dead and alive):

CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K
Internal SSD: Samsung MZ-75E500B/EU 850 EVO 500GB
Case: NZXT H440
PSU: EVGA 210-GQ-0650-V2
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Sport Arbeitsspeicher 16GB Kit (2x8GB)
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW