Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hi,
Long time windows user, recently went to OS X and love my macbook and now in need of a desktop. Instead of buying a Mac mini id rather build my own and have done much research on the subject and I'm still wondering one thing, how stable is this? By that i mean if i pick out the right parts, build it right, can this be my daily driver? I'm a college student so ill be doing primarily typing, web browsing, VERY LITTLE audio/video editing (class projects, you know), I am a guitarist so maybe some garage band, and of course backing up and syncing my iPhone/ipad whenever needed (id say 3 times a week). I'll be dual booting windows where i will game on (Starcraft [hopefully on max if i can get the right card, I've heard its not too graphics heavy], everything in the half-life series [and hopefully half life 3 when it comes out, and yes it is coming out]) and thats pretty much it. So nothing super intensive. Also whats all this talk of "unlicensed versions of Yosemite?" I've always had official copies of windows, so i don't mind ponying up to buy OS X for my machine as long as i can consistently make sure everything works instead of one day saying "you can't do X activity because you don't have an official version of Yosemite" or are my fears crazy?

So long story short-with the above conditions mentioned, is hackintoshing stable enough for daily driver (i really don't want to be doing an iphone/ipad update and then a kernel pack arise)? also if so can anyone recommend a build for very light gaming, mainly typing/browsing/occasional audio processing? can work around budget but as i said, college kid. most bang for buck

Also thanks for looking/helping!