Contribute
Register

Is adding second GPU card worth speeding up Final Cut Pro?

Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
My configuration is the following:

CPU: i9-9900 k - Overclocked to 4.9 GHZ
Ram: 64 GB
GPU: Powercolor 6800 xt
Motherboard: Aorus Z390 master
SSD: Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Cooling: Noctua Nh-d15
Power Supply: FRACTAL DESIGN ION+ 860P 860W FD-PSU-IONP-860P-BK-EU

This post can be a continuation of my previous old post: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/final-cut-pro-optimizations.319971/

I'm a professional Final Cut Pro editor and I always try to speed up my working processes.

Therefore I'm considering of adding another GPU card but I'm not quite sure if this investment would be worth, because I would also need to change my power supply.

The working process is very fast especially when I compare it with my M1 Mini which I have in the office, but there's still space of improvement when adding elements in my timeline, especially 4k compressed videos.

So my questions is "Is it worthy? Has anyone tried it and what are the cons and benefits?"

Is it also easy to adjust the configuration with two cards?

Looking forward to any recommendations.

Attachments

• EFI.zip
    3.9 MB · Views: 26
My configuration is the following:

CPU: i9-9900 k - Overclocked to 4.9 GHZ
Ram: 64 GB
GPU: Powercolor 6800 xt
Motherboard: Aorus Z390 master
SSD: Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Cooling: Noctua Nh-d15
Power Supply: FRACTAL DESIGN ION+ 860P 860W FD-PSU-IONP-860P-BK-EU

This post can be a continuation of my previous old post: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/final-cut-pro-optimizations.319971/

I'm a professional Final Cut Pro editor and I always try to speed up my working processes.

Therefore I'm considering of adding another GPU card but I'm not quite sure if this investment would be worth, because I would also need to change my power supply.