Contribute
Register

Is a hackintosh good for beginners?

Should I try a Hackintosh as my first build?

• Go for it!

Votes: 5 100.0%
  • Nah

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
I know a reasonable amount about computers, and now the major components of them and what is needed but I am by no means an expert. I'm considering building a budget hackintosh as my first computer build for fun. I'm trying to keep it in the $100 dollar range as well. Do you think it is reasonable that this be my first computer build?

Whatever you choose it's still a PC that can run Windows. You're simply installing macOS on PC hardware. You can't build new for 100 dollars so technically you'd be buying a refurbished pre-built PC. There's very little to do other than possibly installing a graphics card and then installing the OS. No need to mess with installing a CPU and heatsink which for beginners is the place where they can make some serious mistakes.

Look at the recommended builds and the golden builds, and even some of the user builds to get a feel for what's needed and what you'll have to do. I would suggest avoiding hardware that Sierra can't run on - such as anything pre-2009 (at least anything including and before the Core2Duo iMac).

Whatever you choose it's still a PC that can run Windows. You're simply installing macOS on PC hardware. You can't build new for 100 dollars so technically you'd be buying a refurbished pre-built PC. There's very little to do other than possibly installing a graphics card and then installing the OS. No need to mess with installing a CPU and heatsink which for beginners is the place where they can make some serious mistakes.
Yeah my plan is to buy a