Contribute
Register

Intel Network adapters on OS X: Small Tree drivers

Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
IBM X3550 M4
CPU
E5-2620 V2
Graphics
GT710 2G
For those who wants backup eeprom or rollback eeprom, under is my method.

 
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
24
Motherboard
MSI GE60 2QD 894XCN
CPU
i7 4710HQ
Graphics
HD4600
Mobile Phone
Android
As I add smalltree kext, no matter original or patched file, kernel panic. Onboard i350 4 port (IBM X3550 M4) Frustrated 3 days, still can not solve it. But already successfully modify 2 10GBe card.
You need to fake i350 to 1533 and define each port location in DSDT.
No others kext are need.
Xnip2019-08-05_21-31-57.jpg

Xnip2019-07-31_20-32-02.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
IBM X3550 M4
CPU
E5-2620 V2
Graphics
GT710 2G
You need to fake i350 to 1533 and define each port location in DSDT.
No others kext are need.
View attachment 420452
View attachment 420453
What if I modify device ID with ethtool?
Interesting


Update

From intel documents
2.21 Can the Subsystem PCI ID be changed in the I210/I211?
Yes. The device, sub-device, and sub-vendor ID’s can be changed. The device ID is a protected field and cannot be changed without loading a new signed image with a different ID.

Oh oh
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
IBM X3550 M4
CPU
E5-2620 V2
Graphics
GT710 2G
You need to fake i350 to 1533 and define each port location in DSDT.
No others kext are need.
View attachment 420452
View attachment 420453
Thank you again , appreciate
It works.
Since Eeupdate64e.efi can not change device ID, I use ethtool to modify, boot into windows, it’s really i210, then I boot into Hackintosh mojave, it works.

I’m so happy.

My new powerful Mac
IBM X3550 M4
It’s cheap, but noise.....
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2018
Messages
24
Motherboard
MSI GE60 2QD 894XCN
CPU
i7 4710HQ
Graphics
HD4600
Mobile Phone
Android
Thank you again , appreciate
It works.
Since Eeupdate64e.efi can not change device ID, I use ethtool to modify, boot into windows, it’s really i210, then I boot into Hackintosh mojave, it works.

I’m so happy.

My new powerful Mac
IBM X3550 M4
It’s cheap, but noise.....
I haven't used ethtool. Without any experience.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Z270 Mark 1
CPU
6700K
Graphics
Intel 530
X520-DA1 - Mojave

Used ethtool to change eeprom. Installed current small tree driver off their site. Card recognized and connects to network.

Problem - stuck on 1Gb and system refuses to go even a MB over 1Gb. Disabled packet signing and no difference.

Somewhat of a noob on mac. Any ideas?

ETA: Failed to mention I'm on fiber and I'm connected to a media server with a 30TB RAID10 volume that can handle 500MB/s. The server also has a RAID0 volumes comprised of 4 250GB SSD's that can handle well over 10Gbe. The server is running Ubuntu 18.04lts and has an X520-DA2. Jumbo frames are on and set to 9014.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
Supermicro X8dt3
CPU
CPU X5475 3.1
Graphics
GTX 960 2GB
Hi, my devices is 8066:10C9 (82756 Dual Band)
Please tell me how to fix it to connect internet
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
IBM X3550 M4
CPU
E5-2620 V2
Graphics
GT710 2G
X520-DA1 - Mojave

Used ethtool to change eeprom. Installed current small tree driver off their site. Card recognized and connects to network.

Problem - stuck on 1Gb and system refuses to go even a MB over 1Gb. Disabled packet signing and no difference.

Somewhat of a noob on mac. Any ideas?

ETA: Failed to mention I'm on fiber and I'm connected to a media server with a 30TB RAID10 volume that can handle 500MB/s. The server also has a RAID0 volumes comprised of 4 250GB SSD's that can handle well over 10Gbe. The server is running Ubuntu 18.04lts and has an X520-DA2. Jumbo frames are on and set to 9014.
X520-DA1 - Mojave

Used ethtool to change eeprom. Installed current small tree driver off their site. Card recognized and connects to network.

Problem - stuck on 1Gb and system refuses to go even a MB over 1Gb. Disabled packet signing and no difference.

Somewhat of a noob on mac. Any ideas?

ETA: Failed to mention I'm on fiber and I'm connected to a media server with a 30TB RAID10 volume that can handle 500MB/s. The server also has a RAID0 volumes comprised of 4 250GB SSD's that can handle well over 10Gbe. The server is running Ubuntu 18.04lts and has an X520-DA2. Jumbo frames are on and set to 9014.
I have met this problem, make sure you change the right port.
As my IBM X3550 M4 mezzanine card, it doesn’t show 2 ports, but 3 ports with strange port name.
Ex:
Port 1
Port 2
Port@&$:):
Actually is two port, not 3, maybe port 1 and port3 is the right port.

Or you should rollback, and try to modify the right digitals.

Second, low speed or delay
You need do 3 fix.
 
Top