Contribute
Register

Installing Sierra on HP Spectre X360 7500U 13-ac005ng - Intel 620 Graphics

Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP Spectre x360
CPU
i7 7500u
Graphics
HD 620 - 4k screen
Repartition such that your macOS target partition is the first (after EFI).
Is there a suggested easy way to do this without wiping my entire windows partition? I have read some people clone their windows partition to a second partition, and then wipe the original windows partition to make room for the Mac OS X partition, but I'm wary of doing that without the right set of steps.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there a suggested easy way to do this without wiping my entire windows partition? I have read some people clone their windows partition to a second partition, and then wipe the original windows partition to make room for the Mac OS X partition, but I'm wary of doing that without the right set of steps.

You can clone your Windows partition (eg. backup to some other device, then restore it to newly partitioned device), but then you'll need to fix the Windows BCD (using BCDBOOT.exe or BCDEDIT.exe). All advanced stuff, so you should be prepared to struggle a bit with it in order to make it work. It is probably easier to fresh install, then restore your files... so... make sure you have a backup of your important files in any case.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP Spectre x360
CPU
i7 7500u
Graphics
HD 620 - 4k screen
You can clone your Windows partition (eg. backup to some other device, then restore it to newly partitioned device), but then you'll need to fix the Windows BCD (using BCDBOOT.exe or BCDEDIT.exe). All advanced stuff, so you should be prepared to struggle a bit with it in order to make it work. It is probably easier to fresh install, then restore your files... so... make sure you have a backup of your important files in any case.
Highly appreciate the advice!!
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP Spectre x360
CPU
i7 7500u
Graphics
HD 620 - 4k screen
You can clone your Windows partition (eg. backup to some other device, then restore it to newly partitioned device), but then you'll need to fix the Windows BCD (using BCDBOOT.exe or BCDEDIT.exe). All advanced stuff, so you should be prepared to struggle a bit with it in order to make it work. It is probably easier to fresh install, then restore your files... so... make sure you have a backup of your important files in any case.

So i do understand that the safest/most reliable method is to do a clean install, however since i have already gone thru all the effort of making sure my EFI partition fits/deleting MSR/everything required for installing without erasing windows, i do want to try to attempt this one more time. It seems like the only advanced part left is using the bcdboot.exe command-line tool. I have a full backup image of my system drive so i feel safe enough to try out some new things.

i have cloned my windows partition using EaseUS partition manager to an adjacent partition (E:). My plan is to then reformat the original windows partition (C:) and then install MacOSX on that while leaving the cloned windows partition right after it. So I would be doing that without fully reformatting the system drive (as i want to keep the original windows RE and recovery partitions). Does this seem like a viable plan?

as far as using bcdboot, I found these instructions which seem straightforward enough. https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-rebuild-the-bcd-in-windows-2624508 Are these instructions all I have to do to fix the Windows BCD and allow my system to boot from E:
 

Attachments

  • EaseUS Disk Partitions.PNG
    EaseUS Disk Partitions.PNG
    100.9 KB · Views: 70
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i have cloned my windows partition using EaseUS partition manager to an adjacent partition (E:). My plan is to then reformat the original windows partition (C:) and then install MacOSX on that while leaving the cloned windows partition right after it. So I would be doing that without fully reformatting the system drive (as i want to keep the original windows RE and recovery partitions). Does this seem like a viable plan?

If your current Windows partition is first, sounds reasonable.
But note that the Windows recovery or other strange OEM partitions can give macOS/OS X trouble too...

as far as using bcdboot, I found these instructions which seem straightforward enough. https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-rebuild-the-bcd-in-windows-2624508 Are these instructions all I have to do to fix the Windows BCD and allow my system to boot from E:

If they work, yes... if not, you can fill in missing details with BCDEDIT.EXE.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
8
Motherboard
HP Spectre x360
CPU
i7 7500u
Graphics
HD 620 - 4k screen
If your current Windows partition is first, sounds reasonable.
But note that the Windows recovery or other strange OEM partitions can give macOS/OS X trouble too...

Could my OEM recovery (D:\ ) or the windows RE partition be the reason why my original sierra installation failed with the "unable to unmount for repair" error?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Could my OEM recovery (D:\ ) or the windows RE partition be the reason why my original sierra installation failed with the "unable to unmount for repair" error?

I don't know what exactly causes that problem, as I've never had it.
But certainly it is caused by partitions that Apple's code doesn't expect to find on a Mac.
 
Joined
May 19, 2016
Messages
11
Motherboard
Spectre x360 2018 Rose Gold-Clover
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
HD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm using spectre x360 i7-u8550 cpu, trying to get High Sierra working (10.13) I get a black screen after installation and booting from the USB drive. If I turn on verbose mode, the screen pops out IOConsoleUser message.

Strangely enough, safe mode boots OK with the USB stick. I've used kextstats and checked in safe mode that Voodoo2, USBInjectAll, FakeSMS, Lilu are all fine (by 'fine' I mean loaded). Normal booting mode (with -v flag, without -x flag) still stucks.

Help is much appreciated!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm using spectre x360 i7-u8550 cpu, trying to get High Sierra working (10.13) I get a black screen after installation and booting from the USB drive. If I turn on verbose mode, the screen pops out IOConsoleUser message.

Strangely enough, safe mode boots OK with the USB stick. I've used kextstats and checked in safe mode that Voodoo2, USBInjectAll, FakeSMS, Lilu are all fine (by 'fine' I mean loaded). Normal booting mode (with -v flag, without -x flag) still stucks.

Help is much appreciated!

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
May 19, 2016
Messages
11
Motherboard
Spectre x360 2018 Rose Gold-Clover
CPU
i7-8550U
Graphics
HD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'll try to elaborate on the previous question.

I'm using spectre x360 i7-u8550 cpu, trying to get High Sierra working (10.13) I get a black screen after installation and booting from the USB drive. If I turn on verbose mode, the screen pops out IOConsoleUser message.

Strangely enough, safe mode boots OK with the USB stick. I've used kextstats and checked in safe mode that Voodoo2, USBInjectAll, FakeSMS, Lilu are all fine (by 'fine' I mean loaded). Normal booting mode (with -v flag, without -x flag) still stucks.

CLOVER.zip is attached (config-cp2.plist from this post is the one got me to the IOConsoleUser message screen), with config.plist (from your github HD620 config), kernel panics.

Screenshot is also attached
WeChat_1520264116.jpeg


Help is much appreciated!
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER-1.zip
    2.4 MB · Views: 79
Top