Graphics
None
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
What's considered a good deal on an SSD for the amount it costs? I'm doing some video work on my build and so regular spinning drives are going to be more practical with my storage but I'd still like to get a solid slate to improve boot time and get into some of my apps a bit quicker.

I found this sale going on at Newegg and would like to know if it's a good deal or if I should for some reason try and get a bigger drive for little bit more.

And if there are any other people who work with video and think I should go bigger, please tell me why because I'm still new to figuring out improving performance on my editing programs with storage devices(like would a large SSD be better as a scratch disk than an HDD for example). Thanks in advance :thumbup:

I would just keep your SSD for your boot drive and apps, and a platter drive for your scratch disk. I've only used an OCZ Vertex 4 256 SSD, so I can't really comment on good versus bad drives. I love the OCZ, and the prices have been dropping like crazy lately. I could probably have gotten away with the 128gb size, as right now with all of my apps I am only using about 80 gigs on it. I have my data drive with my music and movies (about 900 gigs). There are lots of drives on sale right now, so pick one that is highly rated. I think the intel 880 series, as well as the samsung drives are all highly rated. That being said, I'm a huge fan of my OCZ.

What's considered a good deal on an SSD for the amount it costs? I'm doing some video work on my build and so regular spinning drives are going to be more practical with my storage but I'd still like to get a solid slate to improve boot time and get into some of my apps a bit quicker.

120gb - Under $80 is a very good price. $100 is about the max you should probably pay, though you might need to wait for a sale on a particular drive.