Contribute
Register

i7 Hack/Pro Tools 9 - Getting 6101 errors (CPU Overload)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor
Graphics
EVGA 01G-P3-N959-TR GeForce 9500 GT 1GB Video Card
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to the Hackintosh scene. I just build my first Hackintosh (core specs are in my sig) and I've got pretty much everything running GREAT (thanks to many hours spent reading these forums) except for Pro Tools 9 (which is a large part of why I wanted to build this computer). I know there's a few PT users on here so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction here.

When I first installed PT, it wouldn't even open. I got all kinds of crazy errors, and finally did a couple of clean reinstalls of both the OS and PT and got things working. PT opens with no problem, but when I'm playing back sessions I keep getting the following error: "A CPU overload error occurred, if this happens try increasing the buffer size or removing some plug-ins -6101".

I've configured everything according to Avid's suggestions (besides the whole Hackintosh thing), I'm using a secondary hard drive for audio, lowered my core usage to 7 cores/85%, increased my h/w buffer size to 1024, running almost 0 plug-ins, and I still get the error. Any suggestions?

The interface I'm using is a Presonus Firepod (firewire interface) plugged directly into the fw400 port on my MB. I experience a lot of the same issue on my Macbook Pro, so I'm kind of curious if there my be something going on with the Firepod. Does anyone know of a way I can test this? Maybe some way to monitor for bottlenecks in the system that can help me pinpoint where this supposed "overload" is occurring?

Thanks for any help you can give me.