Contribute
Register

I want a 4K display. Will it work with my old graphic cards?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello,

I'm looking to get a 4K TV for my music home studio setup.

I won't use it for gaming, just general editing and stuff.

I don't know much about what I need to make this work, though. What I'm hoping to do, is to buy a 49" 4K TV, and somehow connect it to my hackintosh.

I've got 2x XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 Crossfire graphics cards, and a Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5 TH motherboard.

Can I use the thunderbolt connection on my motherboard? (I've never used it before).

Can I connect my graphic cards, or are they too old to support the technology?

If the answer to both of those questions are no - what graphics card should I look into buying that will do the job without the bank?

Thanks!

Hello,

I don't know much about what I need to make this work, though. What I'm hoping to do, is to buy a 49" 4K TV, and somehow connect it to my hackintosh.

I've got 2x XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 Crossfire graphics cards, and a Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5 TH motherboard.

Can I use the thunderbolt connection on my motherboard? (I've never used it before).

If the answer to both of those questions are no - what graphics card should I look into buying that will do the job without the bank?

Thanks!

The AMD 5770 will do a maximum resolution of 2560x1600, which is not a "4K" resolution - 3840x2160 (UHD) is the minimum.