Contribute
Register

How to edit Chimera to always boot with my options...?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
asrock z77 extreme4
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
msi gtx 460
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
A Newbie here.

Well, I successfully installed SL 10.6.7 on my HP Elite Desktop. Specs are Quad 2 Core @ 2.66 GHz and 8GB RAM. Everything but my Firewire (Lucent chipset) works.
I used Chimera boot loader (from MultiBeast 3.71) and after a few successful boots, at the GUI, I tapped a key and found the myriad of boot options for Chimera. I would like to implement several on a permanent basis but don't know what to edit... and I suppose 'how' to perform the edit as well.
As far as I can tell, the boot loader is in my EFI partition (which I ca neither access nor even see). Whatever I'm to edit surely resides there.
Any help would be awesome. But please remember that I'm a Newbie and will more than likely need a step-by-step set of instructions.

Thanks in advance.

p.s. This site is fantastic!A week ago, I knew nothing about Apple Macs, and now I've installed it on my PC and have begun to experiment with its OS. Awesome.

open finder, under 'devices' on the left itll have your osx hard drive.
in there you should find an 'extra' folder.
in there, there is a com.apple.boot.plist file.

open that. if you cant open it,open it with the text editor.
this is where the chameleon options are saved.

the layout is slightly different to how youd do it in the chameleon boot screen.
eg, say you are using the option pciroouid=1 at startup, in the boot.plist youd write that as

<string>pcirootuid</string>
<key>1</key>\

the part before the = is string, the part after = is the key.

You can also download and install the Chameleon System Preferences preference pane (PrefPane). It offers an easy and organized graphical interface for editing the com.apple.Boot.plist file.

samisnake said:
open finder, under 'devices' on the left itll have your osx hard drive.