Contribute
Register

How do I make a bootable Snow Leopard flash drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3: F5
CPU
i7-870
Graphics
GTX 960
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm running Lion on my main drive, but I have some apps that will only run on Snow Leopard. I really don't need a huge partition, I'd just like to have a bootable Snow Leopard flash drive.

It may be that it's done the same way as if you were doing it on a HDD, but a friend told me that it was different and that there was a guide here. I've looked everywhere but can't find one.

If there is any difference, could someone give me an assist.

Thanks,
Rob
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
622
Motherboard
GA Z77 DS3H
CPU
2500K
Graphics
GTX 560 SC
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just Install snow leopard on a flash drive instead of a Hard Drive. Simple.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3: F5
CPU
i7-870
Graphics
GTX 960
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
will the fact that I have more than 4GB of RAM and other drives attached cause a problem. Guide says to remove those things before installation... would rather not.

Rob
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2012
Messages
622
Motherboard
GA Z77 DS3H
CPU
2500K
Graphics
GTX 560 SC
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't think it will cause a problem but if it does its pretty easy to remove drives and RAM. Just make sure your flash drive is big enough. At least 16GB
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,307
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You can also install on a partition on your HDD, then clone the SL to the flash drive and install Chimera. Note that the USB flash drive will be slower than your HDD connected to SATA ports.
 
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
4,059
Motherboard
GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
CPU
XEON x5570
Graphics
NVidia 9600GT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm running Lion on my main drive, but I have some apps that will only run on Snow Leopard. I really don't need a huge partition, I'd just like to have a bootable Snow Leopard flash drive.

It may be that it's done the same way as if you were doing it on a HDD, but a friend told me that it was different and that there was a guide here. I've looked everywhere but can't find one.

If there is any difference, could someone give me an assist.

Thanks,
Rob

jackoloki

Its sometime very advisable to include the hardware spec that you planning to use on this project - I do suggest that you fill in your signature block so w all know what you got.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3: F5
CPU
i7-870
Graphics
GTX 960
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Its sometime very advisable to include the hardware spec that you planning to use on this project - I do suggest that you fill in your signature block so w all know what you got.

Thanks, I'll do that.

The desktop system I'm running – and that I want create this flash boot for – was built by someone else. I'm trying to gather the specs now. But I've gone ahead created a signature for the Laptop I'm building.

Rob
 
Joined
May 21, 2010
Messages
4,059
Motherboard
GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI
CPU
XEON x5570
Graphics
NVidia 9600GT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks, I'll do that.

The desktop system I'm running – and that I want create this flash boot for – was built by someone else. I'm trying to gather the specs now. But I've gone ahead created a signature for the Laptop I'm building.

Rob

jackoloki

Do post your laptop question to the laptop forum plz
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
58
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3: F5
CPU
i7-870
Graphics
GTX 960
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do post your laptop question to the laptop forum plz

... but this is a *desktop* question. I was merely pointing out that I was following your advice regarding including hardware specs in my signature.

I try my best to ask questions in the correct forum.

Rob
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top