Contribute
Register

How did you become proficient at computers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580 Pulse 8GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
My hackintosh was build by a friend, but I maintain it. I know enough about computers to be dangerous (self-taught), but I still get overwhelmed by all the acronyms, BIOS stuff, and the nitty gritty of hardware. I really want to learn more and be proficient at understanding, troubleshooting, and upgrading my computer. The guides on this site are very useful, but usually when I run into a problem, I’m several days down a Google rabbit-hole of articles and forum posts before I find a solution. It’s part of the territory I’m sure, but I’d like to make it more painless.

How did you become proficient at computers? Self-taught or on-the-job training? Books? Mentors? Do you have a computer science or sysadmin degree? What are your recommended resources?

I think it is important to know how the chips work and why certain things give you certain results.

I have a degree in Electronic technology that I got back in the early 80's when Tube TVs were the thing and VCRs were brand new (and cost $1000's). When I got my degree, I thought I would be working on TVs and stereos, but then I got an Apple ][. Learned to program in machine language, pascal, fortran and of course, Applesoft basic. Pascal back then was a pain because it took 3 floppy disc to run and get to the point where you can write and compile programs. While the end product was better, I just didn't like the start up process. So I ended up doing most of my programming in basic and used programs like Beagle Compiler to make it run faster.