Contribute
Register

Help! Can't install OpenCore 0.5.9 + Catalina 10.15.5 on Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra + i9-9900k + Radeon RX 5700 XT

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Z490I Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
RX 570
Please, help! I'm an absolute newbie to Macs and macOS. Though I'm a system administrator of Linux and FreeBSD servers. I've been trying my best for several days. I've read a ton of instructions and forum posts, I've seen a lot of videos. I've tried a lot of variants. I've read OpenCore Desktop Guide and ACPI Guide thoroughly.

Is it possible to make a working OpenCore 0.5.9 installer entirely in Windows?

My hardware:
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
i9-9900k
Gigabyte Aorus Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corsair memory 2x16 Gb
WD SSD NVMe 1Tb

I tried to make the USB installer several times, but entirely in Windows. When I try to boot from it, it even doesn't offer to install macOS. If I choose "macOS Base System (external)", it starts to load something, but then it sticks and in some time it outputs garbage on the screen. Below are some pictures and my EFI.

Am I doing anything wrong? Or do I need to try to make the installer on any macOS VM? I don't have any real Mac in my disposal.

Attachments

• IMG_20200701_192118.jpg
    IMG_20200701_192118.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 50
  • IMG_20200701_192139_1.jpg
    IMG_20200701_192139_1.jpg
    5 MB · Views: 50
  • IMG_20200701_192246.jpg
    IMG_20200701_192246.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 50
  • EFI.zip
    2 MB · Views: 51
Last edited:
Please, help! I'm an ablolute newbie to Macs and macOS. Though I'm a system administrator of Linux and FreeBSD servers. I've been trying my best for several days. I've read a ton of instructions and forum posts, I've seen a lot of videos. I've tried a lot of variants. I've read OpenCore Desktop Guide and ACPI Guide thoroughly.

Is it possible to make a working OpenCore 0.5.9 installer entirely in Windows?

My hardware:
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
i9-9900k