Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
This will be my first home build.

I am a professional video/film editor and visual effects artist who is looking to build a top of the line hackintosh. I've always been a Mac person, but I realize I can save a bundle by building a PC and also have the ability to easily upgrade it a few years down the line.

I plan to use Final Cut Pro 7, Avid Media Composer, After Effects, and Nuke. Its for very intense workflow, stuff that my current Macbook pro just can't handle anymore. Cutting extreme HD footage (RED, 2k, 4k possibly), and hardcore compositing in After Effects.

Would love some advice on what kind of build I should consider. My budget is anything under $5,000.

So far I am thinking:
Dual 6-core 3.06GHz processors
One GTX 560 Video card
6x4GB memory
and 1tb system drive (possibly 500gb SSD depending on how much $$ I have left over)

I have no idea where to start with motherboards and their compatibility with Hackintoshs. I'm not even sure if these processors are supported?

Other things to consider are, OpenGL (which programs like After Effects use extensively but I'm not quite sure how that affects my options), E-SATA, Firewire ports, or anything else helpful with video postproduction.

Thanks in advance y'all!

Mellti5 said:
This will be my first home build.

I am a professional video/film editor and visual effects artist who is looking to build a top of the line hackintosh. I've always been a Mac person, but I realize I can save a bundle by building a PC and also have the ability to easily upgrade it a few years down the line.

I plan to use Final Cut Pro 7, Avid Media Composer, After Effects, and Nuke. Its for very intense workflow, stuff that my current Macbook pro just can't handle anymore. Cutting extreme HD footage (RED, 2k, 4k possibly), and hardcore compositing in After Effects.