Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
A newbie here. I was going with the CustoMac mATX list. As of May, 2015, I noticed that there is always one drive that is recommended, the Seagate Barracida 1TB.

I decided not to go with the SSD option, so this will be my boot drive. I have always considered a drive to be a drive (warranty, drive speed and throughput being equal). Is there any compatibility (most important) or efficiency reason to stick with this recommended model?

Amazon reports that there is a newer model from Seagate: 1 TB SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB. Any reason to not go with that? Or how about a similar WD model 1 TB 6 GB/s 64 MB?

Both have a larger cache than the recommended Seagate with the same throughput. Both are less expensive and have free shipping vs. the recommended model.

Seems like a no-brainer to me, but I have never done this before.

It's just an all around average pick for a HDD. Yours that you are looking at will do just fine, any HDD will do fine really. its just ssd's that are picky.

You'll likely have to fix a Boot0 when using those 1TB alternate drives. It's an easy
fix so yes, you can use those if you just do some research to learn how to fix that
error when it comes up.

Not being versed in mucking around in the programming, and hoping to do this via the 'cookbook' instructions, I would like to avoid having "to fix a Boot0". I would rather select a drive that avoids doing this step - unless the process is really easy.

So are you saying that any drive other than the specified Seagate Barracuda 1TB may require me to do some extra work? Will that newer model Seagate be OK?

Not being versed in mucking around in the programming, and hoping to do this via the 'cookbook' instructions, I would like to avoid having "to fix a Boot0". I would rather select a drive that avoids doing this step - unless the process is really easy.