Graphics
EVGA GTX 650 Ti Boost SC
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hey all, I had asked a couple questions around here already and had some great help from folks. I have done a couple of PC builds back in college, but the latest was probably 10 years ago or more so I'm pretty rusty. I'm also new to the hackintosh approach but it really appealed to me after I did some figuring and realized I could sell my 2009 iMac for $700 and spend that or less on a decent, if not top-tier dual-boot gaming machine.

So, anyway, I'm going to document my progress here and hopefully get some help when needed and also offer it others in the process. I fully expect to **** up something but we shall see.

Here's the basic plan:

1. 2005-ish PowerMac G5 Case - Done. Picked up for free from a stack of them in our IT closet.
  2. Mountain Mods G5 Motherboard Tray - Done. Just got it - see below for pic.
  3. Newegg Parts - On their way, full line-up is below.
  4. Stock PSU conversion - Mulling this one over, anyone done it? Dangerous?
  5. Relocate Stock HD Tray - May not even need to do this depending on mobo.
  6. Keep Stock Acrylic Air Channel - Clear acrylic cover over the insides is badass, want to keep that.
  7. Keep some/all Stock Fans - This may be a jump, but we'll see if i can get some adapters
  8. Hook-up front panel harness - I think I may just buy a wire kit

Okay, let's see how this plays out...

I wanted to get as close to a clean-swap in terms of cost from selling off my old, but trusty iMac 24" Dual Core. Within 2 days of posting to Craigslist I had it picked up by a guy, cash in hand for the full $700 I asked for it.

So, what did I spend that cash on? Here's the line-up of the major components of the build from NewEgg, this came out to just about $617 with shipping: