Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel Kaby Lake NUC7 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7BNH, NUC7i5BNK, NUC7i3BNH, etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I followed it, but at the first i didnt understood everything and I mixed it with a French tutorial based on your guide, but really not exactly the same so I think I made a mistake during the post installation. Then I tried to fix with many other options (that's why the realtekALC.kext) and yeah it may be a mess...

So I'm gonna restart all from scratch and from what I learned (and apply very seriously your guide) I hope it's gonna be good :)

Thank you for your quick response.

Mixing other guides with this one is "not following the guide"...
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus s300ca 1061h
CPU
Intel core i5-3317u (1,7GHz)
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
So I reinstalled from scratch following exactly your guide. I took your final config.plist for Nuc7, and I couldnt boot from SSD, I have a problem on boot (I have multiple apple icons, then a freeze and then i restarts) whereas my NUC and yours seem very very similar.

So in order to boot properly from ssd and attach you the debug files, I replaced the final config.plist by the installation one.

I can use my hackintosh, but still no audio.
 

Attachments

  • ioreg.ioreg
    4.7 MB · Views: 74
  • kextstat.txt
    1.2 KB · Views: 86
  • ssdt-dst.zip
    49.2 KB · Views: 67

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus s300ca 1061h
CPU
Intel core i5-3317u (1,7GHz)
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting"
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

Mixing config for install, at post-install stage, not expected to work.
If you have a problem with a particular configuration (post install), you must provide files the represent that scenario.

Here you have the clover folder, I booted in verbose mode but couldnt take a proper picture, when it crashes it's unreadable. The last line i think i saw was about the GPU
 

Attachments

  • clover.zip
    1.4 MB · Views: 46
  • ioreg.ioreg
    4.7 MB · Views: 94
  • kextstat.txt
    1.2 KB · Views: 89
  • ssdt-dst.zip
    49.2 KB · Views: 64

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I booted in verbose mode but couldnt take a proper picture, when it crashes it's unreadable.

You need to show the photo.
What is unreadable to you may not be meaningless to me.

How did you collect ioreg if you can't boot?
And if you can boot, you forgot to attach kextcache output.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus s300ca 1061h
CPU
Intel core i5-3317u (1,7GHz)
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
To boot i use the usb key, then i switch between final config.plist and config config.plist
 

Attachments

  • boot-normal.jpg
    boot-normal.jpg
    284.1 KB · Views: 161
  • boot-verbose.jpg
    boot-verbose.jpg
    988.2 KB · Views: 165
  • kextCache.txt
    962 bytes · Views: 98

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To boot i use the usb key, then i switch between final config.plist and config config.plist

I don't know what you mean.
The 'final config.plist' is not for the USB key.
It is only for SSD EFI/Clover (along with correct content in ACPI/patched).

Also, you will need to provide hardware details (eg. monitor, port it is connected to, cable type, etc).
Also, must attach EFI/Clover that produces the result you're having.
You should probably check your BIOS settings too.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus s300ca 1061h
CPU
Intel core i5-3317u (1,7GHz)
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
I don't know what you mean.
The 'final config.plist' is not for the USB key.
It is only for SSD EFI/Clover (along with correct content in ACPI/patched).

Also, you will need to provide hardware details (eg. monitor, port it is connected to, cable type, etc).
Also, must attach EFI/Clover that produces the result you're having.
You should probably check your BIOS settings too.

To avoid the crash on boot (with the final config.plist) I use clover from the usb key I used for install, so it let me boot normally on Mac and then I copy the config.plist from the usb (which is the config.plist form installation) to the EFI partition on my SSD.

My monitor is a Philips 247E, which as a resolution of 1920x1080, i use a standard high speed hdmi cable to connect it to the hdmi port of the Nuc, I have an apple a1048 keyboard and a logitech rx250, that's all i have connected to the Nuc.

My BIOS version is 042 and I put the exact settings you recommended in your guide
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER folder.zip
    1.4 MB · Views: 81
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
184,623
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To avoid the crash on boot (with the final config.plist) I use clover from the usb key I used for install, so it let me boot normally on Mac and then I copy the config.plist from the usb (which is the config.plist form installation) to the EFI partition on my SSD.

The only valid configurations are:
- config_install_nuc7.plist for USB
- config_nuc7.plist for SSD (with correct content in EFI/Clover)

My monitor is a Philips 247E, which as a resolution of 1920x1080, i use a standard high speed hdmi cable to connect it to the hdmi port of the Nuc, I have an apple a1048 keyboard and a logitech rx250, that's all i have connected to the Nuc.

Also, you could try a different monitor, or the USB-C port instead of HDMI.

You could try disabling some of the framebuffer patches/graphics patches in the config.plist.
(perhaps your physical port configuration is different than mine).
You could also try safe mode.

Also, you can try without "hda-gfx" injection (comment out the "hda-gfx" lines from SSDT-IGPU.dsl, then build/install). That will disable HDMI audio, but unpatched audio may be causing your issue (which is why you should use pre-patch_hda.sh).

Seems like you're going to need to experiment.

Also, I'm about to push the changes necessary to use native KBL support in 10.12.6.
(from that point onward, only 10.12.6 or later will be supported).

My BIOS version is 042 and I put the exact settings you recommended in your guide

Legacy boot enabled or disabled? Have you tried both?
What is DVMT-prealloc and DVMT-size set to?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Asus s300ca 1061h
CPU
Intel core i5-3317u (1,7GHz)
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Finally !!!!! It worked disabling hda-gfx and applying pre-patch_hda.sh :)

Very interesting for KBL support on 10.12.6... I'll see how it goes with my actual configuration and think later about it ;)

Thank you so much for your precious time :)

(I now understand really better how all that is working)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top