Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
[quote:2ehf5vpo]Read Post #2, I might have found a sollution. I mark this as solved for the time being.(It might be an obvious sollution, but hell what do I know?)

Nope still Kernel Panics... But not as often as before i believe[/quote:2ehf5vpo]
[SOLVED] In post #3 I've written a quick guide for this computer (may work for similar hardware). Good luck! :p

The method described in post #3 is applicable on Lion although slightly customized. I'm running 10.7.3 right now (10.6.8 -> 10.7 -> 10.7.3). I will make a guide as soon as possible!

-------------OLD MESSAGE DO NOT FOLLOW THIS!-----------------
To begin with I'm a big novice in these areas of computing and this forum together with some others have meant so much to my progression, so thank you all for that.

I got my fathers old laptop to play with when he upgraded. It has an intel cpu so i thought maybe this'll work better than my previous OSX86-builds. So i started to turn this old half-wrecked stationary laptop into a customac.

It runs good, but with some drawbacks, I'll get to them later. I shall add that i have searched thoroughly before considering to post for help.

Specification of HP Compaq nx7300:
  • Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 1.66 Ghz[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]
  • RAM: 1 GB DDRII SDRAM (667MHz)[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]
  • Screen: 15.4” WXGA (1280x800)[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]
  • Graphics: Intel GMA950[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]
  • Wireless: Intel 3945 Pro 802.11 a/b/g, Bluetooth[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]
  • Lan: Integrated Broadcom 10/100 Ethernet PCI Controller[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]

How i got to where i am now:
  1. Installed using iBoot, OSX 10.6.3 dvd and multibeast. (Had to disable one cpu core to boot from the sl disk)[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]
  2. Copied VoodooPS2Controller kext from iBoot cd (as it seems to work great).[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]
  3. Got some boot flags in place e.g. GraphicsEnabler=Yes. (The Graphics seem to work great now)[/*:m:2ehf5vpo]