Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus Z97 Deluxe
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
IGP
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@CaseySJ

Hi, I tried many times without success and need to ask for help.

My Asus Z97 Deluxe with 4790K works well with 2560x1440 using mini DP. No sleep issue at all.

Recently I change the LCD monitor to Asus VG289G 4K and it has two problems:
1. After sleep, it can't wake up and the screen power LED is off.
2. During normal status, if I switch off the Asus monitor and switch it on manually, the display signal is not detected and the monitor is still sleeping.

I am using iGPI. I used mini DP to old monitor. And I am using normal DP to new monitor as I do not have mini DP cable.

I have to patch Framebuffer in order to get 4K activated. Without this, I get only 2560 x 1440.

The LCD is shown with 3840 x 2160, while it also shows as 2560 x 1440.

PS: Following OC doc to patch framebuffer, 4K is not enabled. The following settings work with 3840 x 2160/60Hz.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.48.33 PM.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.48.33 PM.png
    38.2 KB · Views: 40
  • Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.49.59 PM.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.49.59 PM.png
    83.3 KB · Views: 40
  • Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.50.39 PM.png
    Screenshot 2021-03-22 at 7.50.39 PM.png
    41.7 KB · Views: 40

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,767
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ

Hi, I tried many times without success and need to ask for help.

My Asus Z97 Deluxe with 4790K works well with 2560x1440 using mini DP. No sleep issue at all.

Recently I change the LCD monitor to Asus VG289G 4K and it has two problems:
1. After sleep, it can't wake up and the screen power LED is off.
2. During normal status, if I switch off the Asus monitor and switch it on manually, the display signal is not detected and the monitor is still sleeping.

I am using iGPI. I used mini DP to old monitor. And I am using normal DP to new monitor as I do not have mini DP cable.

I have to patch Framebuffer in order to get 4K activated. Without this, I get only 2560 x 1440.

The LCD is shown with 3840 x 2160, while it also shows as 2560 x 1440.

PS: Following OC doc to patch framebuffer, 4K is not enabled. The following settings work with 3840 x 2160/60Hz.
Hello @eos1d3,

This is not an HDMI enablement issue, but a wake-from-sleep issue on DisplayPort with a 4K monitor. Technically it's off topic, but let me at least suggest trying some AGDP patches for wake-from-sleep issues. They may or may not work, but are worth a try.
Screen Shot 2021-03-22 at 9.06.04 AM.png
Another option is to use SwitchResX (trial version available) and specify the scaled resolution (4K, but "looks like 2560x1440"). This may (or may not) help with the second issue (switching the Asus 4K monitor on and off during normal operation).
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus Z97 Deluxe
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
IGP
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I believed HDMI and DP black screen are same issue though. 4K has been working with my patch above, but not the black screen issue. I am using Opencore so the AGDP patch can't be used. Anyway, thank again!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,767
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I believed HDMI and DP black screen are same issue though. 4K has been working with my patch above, but not the black screen issue. I am using Opencore so the AGDP patch can't be used. Anyway, thank again!
We can translate the patch to OpenCore as follows:
  • Identifier: com.apple.driver.AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy
  • Comment: Black Screen Patch Vega 56/64, RX580 etc. (c)Pike R. Alpha
  • Find: 626F6172 642D6964
  • Replace: 626F6172 642D6978
  • Enabled: Check on
Screenshot is of OpenCore Configurator:
Screen Shot 2021-03-22 at 10.50.09 AM.png
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2015
Messages
33
Motherboard
Asus Z97 Deluxe
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
IGP
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for your great help as always!
 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 7
CPU
4690K
Graphics
Sapphire Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi, this guide is a great help. The export as boot loader config will work in opencore right? Also, I’m unable to change the bus ID in hackintool. Tried double clicking or hitting tab from the index entry. Thoughts? Should I try an older version of hackintool?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,767
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, this guide is a great help. The export as boot loader config will work in opencore right? Also, I’m unable to change the bus ID in hackintool. Tried double clicking or hitting tab from the index entry. Thoughts? Should I try an older version of hackintool?
The option to Export to Bootloader Plist works only with Clover. With OpenCore we can first create a DeviceProperties entry for the iGPU (OpenCore Configurator allows us to do this easily) then edit the config.plist with a suitable text editor such as BBEdit (free trial version can be downloaded from their website -- BareBones Software). We can then copy the framebuffer patch segment from Hackintool and paste it into the right spot in the OpenCore config.plist.

To change BusID in Hackintool, simply double-click on it.
 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 7
CPU
4690K
Graphics
Sapphire Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The option to Export to Bootloader Plist works only with Clover. With OpenCore we can first create a DeviceProperties entry for the iGPU (OpenCore Configurator allows us to do this easily) then edit the config.plist with a suitable text editor such as BBEdit (free trial version can be downloaded from their website -- BareBones Software). We can then copy the framebuffer patch segment from Hackintool and paste it into the right spot in the OpenCore config.plist.

To change BusID in Hackintool, simply double-click on it.
I've tried double clicking, it simply won't work! I'm baffled as to what could be the reason. I tried unlocking on the bottom left as well. Any thoughts?
Also when I used the export to bootloader config then checked in opencore configurator, it seemed aligned all correctly! The only issue now is the inability to edit the bus ID for some reason.

Opencore will read base64 or hex?
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
706
Motherboard
X299-WU8
CPU
i9-9880XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Hi @CaseySJ
I am looking graphics patch for i9-10980HK Code Name Comet Lake
In Hackintool I don’t see this CPU.please help.

Can you check this config Graphics and CPU data
AAPL,ig-platform-id
device-id


Thanks.

Mini PC

 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    33 KB · Views: 21
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,767
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ
I am looking graphics patch for i9-10980HK Code Name Comet Lake
In Hackintool I don’t see this CPU.please help.

Can you check this config Graphics and CPU data
AAPL,ig-platform-id
device-id


Thanks.

Mini PC

Hello @nmano,

Long time no see!

Comet Lake desktop platform IDs are:
  • Headless 0x9BC80003
  • Non-headless 0x3E9B0007
  • Big Sur supports Comet Lake iGPU device ID natively, so it's not necessary to specify device-id
    • I believe latest version of Catalina also supports this
    • However, if you need to specify device-id, it should be 0xC89B0000
 
Top