Contribute
Register

[Guide] El Capitan on the Intel Broadwell NUC

Joined
Sep 30, 2016
Messages
6
Hi,
Everything was working perfectly on High Sierra 10.13.3.
The OS was on an M.2 drive, and my home folder on an SSD drive.
Then it broke.
I always keep my Hackintosh on (24h/24). One morning, when i opened the monitor everything was slow and the CPU was very high. I tried to quite some apps, but couldn't. "Force quit" didn't work either.
Whatever I did, the "small pie" kept turning and turning.
I finally shut down with the power button, and when I tried to reboot... and error message said that there was no bootable drive.
Then I tried to boot with my Super Duper clone on a USB drive... didn't work, still "no bootable drive".
I also tried with a bootable recovery USB key (used with success a few weeks ago to recover a broken Sierra).
In the bios boot menu, I couldnt't see any of my drives (M.2, internal SSD and USB HDD).

Finally, the only thing that worked was to reset the bios to it's default options and to install a Linux distribution. I installed it on the internal SSD, keeping my M.2 drive in case I could recover it later (and reinstall my home folder on the SSD from a backup).

Today I took a look at my Super Duper clone on the USB HDD, and it contains an EFI-Backups folder. The most recent is r4359, dated January 27.

I wonder if I could use this backup to recover (fix) my bootable M.2 drive (the one with the OS), but I have no idea how to proceeed. Any suggestion would be appreciated...
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2016
Messages
6
Replying to myself...
I cannot access the M.2 from Linux, since it's been formatted to APFS by High Sierra.
I guess I can buy an M.2 USB adapter to access the M.2 drive from another Mac (with High Sierra) and then copy the EFI-backup on the EFI partition... ?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
297
Motherboard
GA-P55A-UD4P
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
5870
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It seems as though the 0030 BIOS for MYHE is gone from Intel's web site. It's not up to version 0040. Does anyone know if 0040 has fixed the issues that seemed to crop up in 0032 and if it's still not possible to downgrade after an update?
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
297
Motherboard
GA-P55A-UD4P
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
5870
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a Coffee Lake hackintosh with High Sierra installed. Can I clone this hard drive with Carbon Copy Cloner to an APFS-initialized hard SSD, run Multibeast, then copy the EFI/EFI/CLOVER folder to the SSD and expect a bootable drive for my NUC5i5MYHE? I'm looking for an easy update from El Capitan.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
10
Motherboard
Intel NUC5i7RYH
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-5557U
Graphics
Intel® Iris™ Graphics 6100
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
View media item 190356Graphics glitches in High Sierra.

I have been getting very odd screen artifacts since moving to High Sierra. The bottom 1/4 of the screen is garbled and moving. I actually thought it might be a graphics card issue because it didn't start until the second boot. I now believe it is something in my setup because I was able to boot Linux Mint several times without any video artifacts.

I have a couple notes on this issue. After leaving my computer running overnight, I didn't have any artifacts. After a reboot, they reappeared.

I temporarily fixed the glitches by deleting a bunch of files from EFI>Clover>driversUEFI64. Unfortunately, this led to an unbootable drive. I had to boot from an install disk and copy the files contained in there. At that point, my graphics card was not recognized. It did not load properly. The result was that I only showed 31 MB of available memory, but I didn't have any video glitches. I then ran the latest multibeast for High Sierra to try to fix my graphics. My graphics card was recognized, but the video glitches were back.

I attached my config.plist and a picture of my EFI>Clover>driversUEFI64 files. I'm not sure if I need to upload anything else.

Edit: I noticed that I can temporarily stop the video glitch if I open Clover... but only if I have certain sections open: ACPI, Boot, Devices, Gui, Graphics, or Kernel and Kext Patches.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    6.6 KB · Views: 201
  • Screen Shot 2018-04-08 at 7.12.42 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-04-08 at 7.12.42 PM.png
    229.2 KB · Views: 110
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
10
Motherboard
Intel NUC5i7RYH
CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-5557U
Graphics
Intel® Iris™ Graphics 6100
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I seem to have fixed (at least temporarily) my issue above. I went into the bios and changed my minimum video memory from 64 to 128 mb. Hopefully this will help anyone else if they have this issue.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
314
Motherboard
GA-Z370N-WIFI
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 460
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I wish someone gave me a warning not to put Apple WiFi with NVME drive into nuc5i3myhe without isolating them from each other. Got flame and smoke from my NUC today, and got my NVME killed (possibly m2 port as well, system won't see my other nvme drive after putting that in)
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
314
Motherboard
GA-Z370N-WIFI
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 460
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
When it goes to deep sleep (over a few hours), it fails to wake up, and I have to reboot. To be specific, I press a key and the monitor seems to respond but it goes into sleep mode again, never to wake up.

I've read through all the posts and it seems no one else has this problem. It never happened with the Yosemite install (with a different config.plist), so I'm pretty sure it's not a hardware problem.

Anyone experiencing this? If so, please post your solution if you have one. Thanks.
Having same problem
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
314
Motherboard
GA-Z370N-WIFI
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 460
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Top