Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

Joined
Apr 21, 2012
Messages
110
Motherboard
GA Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks a lot @CaseySJ , the picker looks now the same as in 0.6.3. However, it still does not show disk labels except for Windows and macOS Installer. It shows EFI for each macOS drive instead of Catalina or CLONE OF CATALINA, so can't see what I'm exactly booting off.

Changed boot priorities, but the issue still exists. I tried to change it to the same USB drive as well as to the drive with Catalina, but it did not work.

Also what is the minimal BIOS version I should be on for 0.7.4?

Hi @CaseySJ , just wondering if there is anything else I can look at to be able to boot? So far priority boot did not clear the issue
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,981
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CaseySJ , just wondering if there is anything else I can look at to be able to boot? So far priority boot did not clear the issue
Because you reported two issues, which of the following is still a problem?
  1. OCB: LoadImage Failed
  2. Cannot see macOS volume names in OpenCore Picker
Are you able to compress and post your EFI folder (with serial numbers removed from PlatformInfo --> DataHub)?
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
993
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Another thing to investigate is the impact of the replacement DMAR table that enables AppleVTd.

On z590 I don’t need to replace the system dmar for applevtd to load properly.
Yeah, I have a feeling this is the culprit, will confirm later
Ok cool, thanks for that!

What ports are you experiencing the ejecting on if I may ask?
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
845
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah, I have a feeling this is the culprit, will confirm later


What ports are you experiencing the ejecting on if I may ask?
Definitely the front usb-c port, I haven’t tried any others. Thunderbolt-based storage devices don’t disconnect however, they remain connected just fine.
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, now I have a couple of issues;

1. --and most important-- Sleep:
When I press the sleep, it seems to go to sleep but not even power down. The display opens again after a couple of seconds.

2. Bluetooth is not working.
I don't know what is the problem? Simply don't have a clue.

Any help would be appreciated!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,981
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, now I have a couple of issues;

1. --and most important-- Sleep:
When I press the sleep, it seems to go to sleep but not even power down. The display opens again after a couple of seconds.
Is this on Big Sur?

2. Bluetooth is not working.
I don't know what is the problem? Simply don't have a clue.
Which WiFi/BT card do you have? Or are you using OpenIntelWireless drivers?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
1,306
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10850K
Graphics
6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Well all, it happened: bootable backup clones with CCC are gone. At least for me with CCC 6.0.4 and Monterey.

I just had a long and not very pleasant email dialogue with Mike Bombich about my recent attempt to clone my Monterey install. It failed, and Mike pointed out that this will happen much more in the future as many of us knew - because this is what Apple wants.

Now I did use the legacy boot option, but it failed. Mike pointed out why, but clearly reminded me that soon there won't be a legacy boot option anyway, because that is what Apple wants.

His recommendation was try plan B: Plan B for a simple bootable backup is kind of a nightmare, which, if you read below, he fullly admits. First, you install your OS on your projected clone. (In my case, that took a LONG time on a very fast NVME drive). Then your best bet is to use migration assistant to migrate all your settings to your bootable backup clone. Again, that takes a dreadful amount of time.

Now I have done this and I'm looking at about three hours. And remember, every time Apple upgrades its code, you will have to upgrade this way. Imagine that....

How do you quickly recover from a failure? Well, he actually has no answer for that.....

More from our dialogue:

ME: "Every time Apple upgrades its code, I have to do this?"
MIKE: "No, I'm actually suggesting that you stop doing that."

ME: "No, that's not a good backup experience."
MIKE: "I agree! Please, stop doing it this way! Don't make bootable backups, make Standard Backups instead (i.e. the "default settings"). This is precisely the experience that I'm trying to have people avoid, this is why I'm trying to convince people to stop trying to make the backup bootable. What do you have when this is complete? Is the bootable backup substantively better than a Standard (non-bootable) backup? No, it's marginally better at best, and given the hassle that you have to go through to make and keep it bootable, I think it's now worse."

The problem that Mike deftly avoids is the situation wherein you need to complete a project and you can't because of disk failure. If you could boot your backup, you could do what's needed to complete it.

But sure, if you have multiple Macs sitting around doing nothing and you have the backup of the project you could just move the project over to your excess machine (Well, sure I have a couple of Mac Pros just sitting around waiting for me to use them). You do too, right?

You know this sounds like a ploy by Apple to make sure they can sell more hardware. Because if you've got a critical project, you have to have two Mac Pros (or two of any Mac hardware). And they have to be mirrored and exactly the same. Then and only then can you trust that if you move a project from a failed Mac to another Mac, you can count on being able to continue uninterrupted.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
RX 580 + GTX 710
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is this on Big Sur?


Which WiFi/BT card do you have? Or are you using OpenIntelWireless drivers?
Sorry.
I’ve updated the system.

I’ve now onboard card. And also my keyboard is not working. Also lost wifi too. I’m not sure what happened.

Just wanted to migrate. And I followed the steps you wrote.
 
Top