Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Black RAM Slots => Which to use ?!?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 (UEFI)
CPU
i5 2400
Graphics
GTX 560 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Hi ! I'm having quite a brainstrom right now. I have no idea what slots to use on this motherboard. I believe I got them wrong when I built this build.

Have a look :
Capture d’écran 2013-05-15 à 14.34.28.png
IMG_0039.jpg

My RAM sticks are on the DDR3_1 and DDR3_2, so it seems correct, but I'm no expert. And my System Info Panel says they're not on the same channel. So I have no Idea if this thing is right or wrong...

Help !
Clovel

Gygabyte Black RAM Slots => Which to use ?!?

The instructs seen to contradict the board

I would expect to put memory in slots left to right - for the sake of explanation here 1 (far left), 2 (to the immediate right of 1) and so on.

Normally you would use 1 and 3 or 2 and 4

Your instructions suggest using 1 and 2 or 3 and 4

You might need to try a few options.

Gygabyte Black RAM Slots => Which to use ?!?

Hi ! I knew something was weird...

The Slot DDR3_1 indicator is on the other side. And the attachment does not have the same layout as my motherboard, but the revision under.

I'm understanding (or misunderstanding) that I should move the sticks to (on the picture) slots 2 and 4. But if i do what you said, my sticks will both be next to the CPU, correct ? Or is it on the other side ? Shouldn't they be on the DDR3_1 & DDR3_3 ports ? Is there any difference ? I'm confused here, sorry.

Thanks,
Clovel

Clovel, its not at all clear when instructions seem to contradict the board. The board should be correct. I amended my original comment as I had looked at the instructions, but not your photograph of the board.

I have had a look at the instruction from the Gigabyte EV site. They show only one revision of this board. Here is a quote from p16, text is just below you image: